Sage Cornmeal Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I couldn't decide between cornbread and biscuits so I searched for a cornmeal biscuit. These were really good, paired with chicken and dumplings, excellent! Used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I never review stuff so here goes:left out the sage, added 1/4c sugar but no honey just dropped them on the cookie sheet and baked for 10min=a great homemade version of the corn variety of a popular big biscuit in the blue can. They were tender, light and fluffy and no one used butter because they didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I changed the flour to whole wheat flour, the shortening to oil, and omitted the salt. The family loves these! Next time, I will increase the amount of sage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent exactly as written, only change was to dust surface with a bit of extra cornmeal for even more crunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These were a nice change from the ordinary biscuits I make. I am making them again tonight!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These were fantastic! We loved the addition of the cornmeal for a slightly different texture. Using butter instead of shortening gave them great flavor. I can see these being made with any herb and maybe even some cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I am eating these now and dropping crumbs in my keyboard. They are very good. I might try a little more sage next time, but maybe they are perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Absolutely amazing, and easy. I used rosemary instead of sage, and a whole stick of butter. And just for fun I used a Halloween cookie cutter and had bat biscuits, my husband and friends thought they were adorable and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I made this recipe without the sage to go with chili - yum!! I plan to make them the next time we have ham & beans instead of cornmeal. They would be good using a variety of herbs, too. We have a new favorite biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
i didn't use sage and instean added about 1/4 cup sugar and 3-4 tablespoons of honey. they came out spectacular. i also buttered them right out of the oven thus making them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States