Sage Cornmeal Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
i didn't use sage and instean added about 1/4 cup sugar and 3-4 tablespoons of honey. they came out spectacular. i also buttered them right out of the oven thus making them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made these following the recipe to a 'T'. I think maybe it was the sage, but we couldn't get one bite down!! However minus the sage they were terrific! I guess maybe sage is an acquired taste!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acraig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I made this recipe without the sage to go with chili - yum!! I plan to make them the next time we have ham & beans instead of cornmeal. They would be good using a variety of herbs, too. We have a new favorite biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Interesting combination of biscuit and cornbread muffin. I couldn't really taste the sage, so I'll probably spice it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I couldn't decide between cornbread and biscuits so I searched for a cornmeal biscuit. These were really good, paired with chicken and dumplings, excellent! Used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Absolutely amazing, and easy. I used rosemary instead of sage, and a whole stick of butter. And just for fun I used a Halloween cookie cutter and had bat biscuits, my husband and friends thought they were adorable and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
My picky preschooler couldn't decide if she wanted corn muffins or biscuits for school this week, so this recipe was a good compromise. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening, grated it into the batter (a trick learned from the Simple Scones recipe on this site) and used my food processor to work the dough together very quickly. I had 4 ounces of sharp cheddar on hand so I grated that in prior to the addition of the milk. It resulted in a very sticky batter, so I patted it with my hand and formed about eight biscuits by just grabbing pieces--worked out nicely. The sage flavor is just about right, maybe because it balanced the cheese I added. They had a light and fluffy texture and would be nice with a roast or stew dinner...or sausages and eggs for a southern-style breakfast. Not something you want to eat on their own but a nice complement to hearty fall and winter meals. My family wasn't wild about them, but I liked them well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I am eating these now and dropping crumbs in my keyboard. They are very good. I might try a little more sage next time, but maybe they are perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These were okay, but not at all what I expected. We couldn't taste the sage at all, even though I added more than twice the amount called for. Besides the extra sage I followed the recipe exactly, and they didn't turn out fluffy at all; they were a bit crispy and didn't rise all that much, even though I was very careful not to overmix. I did like the addition of the cornmeal, however, and they weren't too bad with plenty of extra butter slathered on top. Overall, though, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
The texture of these is great - fluffy and light with a popping of cornmeal between the teeth. The sage flavor didn't stand up as we expected; they need to be served with a zesty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States