Sage Cornmeal Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I really liked this recipe - but I didn't use sage b/c I didn't know how it would go with the soup I was serving - beef lentil. Instead I used 1/4 c of white sugar and my goodness was it good. It could be just my oven - but - these cooked FAST. They were done on the bottom before they were done on the top, I wonder if the temp should be a few degrees less. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These turned out dry. I was hoping that they would be like the corn biscuits that I can no longer find in local grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
We had these with chili when I didn't have time to make my usual cornbread. My family liked them well enough. Didn't rave over them and I couldn't even taste them because of a terrible cold. :( Because of what some people said about them not rising enough, I made the last tsp of baking powder heaping. Mine were nice and fluffy and light, though I wish the bottoms hadn't hardened so much. Maybe next time I will do 9 minutes instead of 10 or even knock the cook temp down to 425 instead. Thanks for a good basic recipe. I am sure I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent exactly as written, only change was to dust surface with a bit of extra cornmeal for even more crunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I changed the flour to whole wheat flour, the shortening to oil, and omitted the salt. The family loves these! Next time, I will increase the amount of sage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These are pretty tasty! I added the 1/4 c. of sharp cheese and 1/2 t. of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I didn't care for these. They didn't rise much at all, so they ended up like hockey pucks. I left out the sage, and the taste was OK at best, but they needed a little sugar or honey. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These weren't as good as I'd hoped. I was thinking I'd make them as the Biscuits for the Veggie Biscuit and gravy I wanted to make, and thought the sage in the biscuit would complement the gravy. While the tastes were good together, I found these to be very dry, and they didn't "fluff" up, like I expected them to. I'll stick with the traditional southern buttermilk style biscuits next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I never review stuff so here goes:left out the sage, added 1/4c sugar but no honey just dropped them on the cookie sheet and baked for 10min=a great homemade version of the corn variety of a popular big biscuit in the blue can. They were tender, light and fluffy and no one used butter because they didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These were a nice change from the ordinary biscuits I make. I am making them again tonight!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States