Safta Miriam's Passover Seven Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marnie
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made this upscale, and people have been raving ever since! I followed most of the recipe- except... I toasted some macadamia nuts, then chopped them for the top and the sides. I also took some frozen whole cherries, chopped them, and put them all across the top. I did not use as much wine as mentioned, but did follow the soaking and poured some on top the night before I served it. It was incredible- and everyone has asked me for the delicious recipe! Thank you for bringing something delish to the usually not so delish passover dessert table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arielle
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
The best Passover cake I have ever had!! I would even make it during the rest of the year. Also it tastes AMAZING if you add you use a little bit of a chopped chocolate bar like chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I plan to make this with the "upscale" suggestions but I will alter this to substitute pasturized egg yolks and egg whites for the raw ingrediants. Decorating the top with chocolate curls and/or candied fruits would add to eye appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I made two, figuring that something that small wouldn't feed the entire seder crowd. I was WRONG. This "cake" is so rich and so good that all 16 ate the one cake, and I sent the other home with the host. Good golly, this is good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I use to make this and my family adored it. I stopped because of the concern over raw eggs. It is an absolutely fantastic recipe. You can make it a couple of days ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very interesting idea. I didn't think this was good, but the kids at the seder liked it a lot. Afterwards, I realized that raw eggs probably were not good to serve to them, but they seem okay now. I could see playing with the recipe to improve the taste and texture and eliminate the raw egg problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Great recipe! I make it every passover, it tastes even better if you add a hazelnut flavored chocolate to the melted chocolate! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Relatives in Israel gave me the recipe so I was astonished to see it here! Egg concerns? Don't use them. It will turn out just fine. Wine concerns? Use grape juice, pomegranate or cherry juice and will be delicious. I sprinkle colored sprinkles on top instead of chocolate shavings. This serves a lot of people! And uses up matzoh. That's the point, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Was VERY good. But how come it says ready in 30 minutes if you have to put it in the frig overnight?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
So delicious! This is a Passover dessert I will actually look forward to! It is amazing to see how many people this cake will feed. I received nearly two dozen variations on "yum." I only made one substitution: using the "don't cook with wine you won't drink" principle, I chose a semi-sweet kosher red wine, and will stick to this choice in the future. It was sweet enough without the cough-syrupy flavor of Manischewitz. A minor warning: make sure you either start shopping well ahead of time or go to a kosher grocery if you adhere strictly to Passover restrictions; finding chocolate without soy emulsifier is very difficult and I was unable to find margarine without soybean oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States