Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Followed the recipe and it came out great. We loved the flavor and aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I used basmati rice that I rinsed and soaked for 30 minutes. I also used chicken broth. I read somewhere about using a folded tea towel and put it between the lid and the pot which worked great and seemed to catch some of the moisture and keep the rice fluffy and dry. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Fabulous for guest with Indian saffron rice, salad and nann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I only give it 4 stars because I had no idea about the soaking of the saffron. I made the rice because I purchased the saffron after hearing how good the rice is with it. I have always used a little oil never butter (butter makes the rice mushy, while oil makes rice granules fluffy and separate). I never use olive oil not even the light taste because it imparts the olive flavor. I like using corn oil (yes, even canola oil has a certain aroma) as it seems to be the most neutral in taste. I recommend storing the basmati in the fridge (I have had two bags that were infested with weevils).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShotsyGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent! Loved this. I didn't have cardamon seeds (did put ground cardamon in the cart, but couldn't find it anywhere when I started cooking). Other than that, I followed the recipe pretty closely. My rice was done in 25 minutes though & I didn't have time to soak the rice for a half hour. It only soaked 5 minutes and it still turned out well. Oh, and Chicken broth because I didn't have veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShotsyGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Yum! I didn't use whole cardamom or cinnamon, so I used ground, but it was still lovely. I also made this entirely in the rice cooker, including the sauteeing of the onions and other ingredients; it really was pretty easy. Absolutely delicious! Even hubs enjoyed, and I thought he'd be grumpy about the cloves in the dish, but he wasn't. We do love us some saffron rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Saffron is much cheaper in Israel, and I had ALOT of it. I was starting to worry that it wasn't getting used up quick enough, so I tried this recipe. It was so delicious that I'm having to buy saffron here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
It was very rich and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I made this for 2 of my husband's co-workers that came to Texas for a month from India. I, for one, am in love with this rice! It is so fragrant and delicious. The guys from India said it was good, too, although they were so polite about everything and had nothing negative to say the entire time they were here! :) Thanks for the recipe! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Just got done eating this. Wow! Awesome recipe. A little time consuming but not very hard, very tasty and very aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States