Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Mmmm, rich and creamy and delicious! Pretty and colorful too! I used half the amount of butter called for and it was plenty. Rather than dried parsley I used fresh, which added great fresh flavor and color. I cooked the rice in chicken broth, again adding more flavor, and used an extra pinch of saffron (love the stuff). The food coloring wasn't necessary. This paired perfectly with Sea Bass Cuban Style, the recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Upon other's advice, I cut the butter in half, but it still may have been too much. I did use the food coloring and liked the color it gave the rice, but it is unnecessary to the recipe. I used jasmine rice. This was a side to olive chicken ii from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
i used half olive oil and half butter, chicken broth instead of water, added some crushed red pepper, and left out the yellow food coloring. i served this w/ black bean and corn quesadillas from this site. very flavorful if you want something other than the usual mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was just ok - nothing special. It was quite easy to make though. I used 1 tbsp. of olive oil - 8 tbsp of butter is way too much. I did not like the idea of using food coloring in a "healthy" side dish, but I did want to get an authentic yellow color to the rice - I ended up sprinkling about 1/2-1 tsp of turmeric into the pot - and this achieved the desired color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is delicious! I don't often make plain white rice anymore as a side since finding this easy, somewhat sinful recipe. It's more than ok to cut back on the butter to at least half. I also use chicken stock in place of water, some bouillion, and saute some shallot and garlic instead of plain onion. I skip the food colouring. It's a nice bright yellow with the saffron alone. Everyone raves about this when I make it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
it would be better to grind the safron prior to adding it. otherwise it won't unfold it's yellow colour. also there is no need for artificial food colouring when using saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hitchi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Nice subtle flavor. Not 5 stars b/c the butter called for must be a typo...8TBS? I used two and that was more than plenty. Also, used fresh parsley. Thanks for the recipe it was my first time using saffron and we enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great but I used butter instead of margarine and chicken broth instead of water. I skipped the food color as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I've just begun cooking with saffron and this is the best recipe I've tried so far. I agree with the reviewer who said to steep the saffron. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was good. I halved the butter and did not put in the food coloring. I also used a bullion cube and only put in 1 1/2 c of water. My rice only had a hint of saffron, but that's my fault. I guess my idea of a pinch is different from the recipe submitter's! I added in golden raisins like I've had in restaurants. I will definitely make it again with more saffron. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States