Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Mmmm, rich and creamy and delicious! Pretty and colorful too! I used half the amount of butter called for and it was plenty. Rather than dried parsley I used fresh, which added great fresh flavor and color. I cooked the rice in chicken broth, again adding more flavor, and used an extra pinch of saffron (love the stuff). The food coloring wasn't necessary. This paired perfectly with Sea Bass Cuban Style, the recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
it would be better to grind the safron prior to adding it. otherwise it won't unfold it's yellow colour. also there is no need for artificial food colouring when using saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hitchi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is very exquisite. It really celebrates the saffron. It's ok to cut back on the butter and to use different flavors of broth or stock. Fresh parsley is better than dried. Really a great side dish. Food coloring is super not necessary. Also, a small splash of cream and a couple of tablespoons of parmesan cheese make this even better. Great comfort food side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used a mixture of butter and olive oil(1Tbsp each) and used chicken stock instead of water. Heat chicken stock and allow saffron to "bloom" in the stock for a few minutes. I used basmati rice and also added frozen peas. No need to use food coloring. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I changed the recipe a bit and the results were absolutely DELICIOUS! I used less butter (6 tbs) and I added thinly sliced smoked portuguese sausage. I sauteed the onions and sausage for about 2-3 minutes in 3 tbs. butter, then added the other 3 tbs. butter and the rice, I let the rice brown a bit, then I added the water and used italian seasoning instead of parsley and a few sprinkles of adobo instead of saffron and food coloring. I also added a few manzanilla olives and then I let it come to a boil and then simmered for 20 minutes. Absolutely delicious!! Reminds me of a dish I use to enjoy in elementary school when visiting the home of a Columbian friend. My family loved it!! I'm sure you will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great but I used butter instead of margarine and chicken broth instead of water. I skipped the food color as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Just bought saffron for the first time yesterday,so had to try this recipe w/it. I used 1/2 a small onion, & olive oil instead of butter ( 2 Tbsp.) also, chicken stock, not water, cause that's what I usually do. I did crush the saffron a bit into the stock & heated it in the microwave before adding it to the pan of rice. Hubs & I really liked this~we both cleaned our plates. If you have the saffron, give it a try. Didn't use any coloring-it was nice & golden by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Really Yummy!!! I only added about 4 tablespoons of butter which turned out fine. I didn't have any parsley so I omitted it. I did however add a pinch of curry and cumin. I used basmati rice which only took 15 mins. I will defiantly cook again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is delicious! I don't often make plain white rice anymore as a side since finding this easy, somewhat sinful recipe. It's more than ok to cut back on the butter to at least half. I also use chicken stock in place of water, some bouillion, and saute some shallot and garlic instead of plain onion. I skip the food colouring. It's a nice bright yellow with the saffron alone. Everyone raves about this when I make it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I did not care for this rice dish. It was like eating a stick of butter. There weren't any other complementing flavors. I added some spices after cooking, however it was still much too buttery. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States