Sadie's Longboy Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wow! This was very simple to make and it tasted great. As other reviews have stated, the bread was a little overdone by the time the meat was cooked, but for me it was only a few millimeters on the outside that were crunchy - the inside of the bread was still soft. Maybe the fact that I used one of our homemade loaves made a difference. Anyway, I will certainly be making this one again. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
The filling was good, but the bread crust got so crisp it was nearly impossible to bite through. If I make this again, I will take another reviewer's tip and brown the meat first and bake only for a short time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
These weren't bad. My fiance thought they were really good, I thought they were okay. I'll probably make them again for a quick easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This is one of my favorite childhood meals. We always brown the meat mixture first before filling the bread with it and just bake for a short time. We also use shredded cheddar for the top and the kids always squirted extra ketchup on the top before eating, too! Plus, my mother would always give us the bread "insides" for a snack that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Way too much worcestershire sauce. My kids had a hard time touching this one, but they are very picky. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Since putting this recipe on here, I have become a vegetarian. And since I loved this recipe, I came up with a meatless way to eat it. Simply take a package of the Morningstar crumbled soymeat (defrosted), and add a bit more ketchup and evap milk to make it a sticky precooked consistency . I then zapped it with some Montreal steak seasoning in addition to the rest of the ingredients and slathered in cheese. Still yummy. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
THIS WAS FAST-EASY AND VERY FILLING! MY FAMILY LOVED IT. MAKES MORE THAN YOU WOULD THINK! 2 ADULTS 2 TEENS AND SOME LEFTOVER! UNUSUAL FOR MY FAMILY. WILL MAKE AGAIN FOR MY KIDS & THEIR FRIENDS WHEN THEY STAY OVER. GREAT SUPPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This recipe sure sounds better than it tastes. It tasted like meatloaf on crusty bread to me. My family wouldn't want me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It is something I grew up eating, but had not been able to find the recipe for. I made it last night and got much comfort from it. My husband says it's a "keeper", and that's not the reaction I've gotten from all of the recipes I've tried from this site! I urge everyone to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Very flavorful! My husband couldn't stop eating it. Our dinner guests also loved it. It is more like meatloaf than a cheeseburger but that's just wording. Easily serves 6-8. Very filling. I used 1 tsp of onion powder because one of my dinner guests does not like onions. It may have been a little too much - but probably the reason my husband liked it so much, lots of flavor. Caution: not a daity sandwich :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States