Sadie's Longboy Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
THIS WAS FAST-EASY AND VERY FILLING! MY FAMILY LOVED IT. MAKES MORE THAN YOU WOULD THINK! 2 ADULTS 2 TEENS AND SOME LEFTOVER! UNUSUAL FOR MY FAMILY. WILL MAKE AGAIN FOR MY KIDS & THEIR FRIENDS WHEN THEY STAY OVER. GREAT SUPPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I added an egg and shredded cheddar to this. YUMMY!! Next time I will stuff a can of mushrooms in there too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Very flavorful! My husband couldn't stop eating it. Our dinner guests also loved it. It is more like meatloaf than a cheeseburger but that's just wording. Easily serves 6-8. Very filling. I used 1 tsp of onion powder because one of my dinner guests does not like onions. It may have been a little too much - but probably the reason my husband liked it so much, lots of flavor. Caution: not a daity sandwich :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It is something I grew up eating, but had not been able to find the recipe for. I made it last night and got much comfort from it. My husband says it's a "keeper", and that's not the reaction I've gotten from all of the recipes I've tried from this site! I urge everyone to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Since putting this recipe on here, I have become a vegetarian. And since I loved this recipe, I came up with a meatless way to eat it. Simply take a package of the Morningstar crumbled soymeat (defrosted), and add a bit more ketchup and evap milk to make it a sticky precooked consistency . I then zapped it with some Montreal steak seasoning in addition to the rest of the ingredients and slathered in cheese. Still yummy. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This is one of my favorite childhood meals. We always brown the meat mixture first before filling the bread with it and just bake for a short time. We also use shredded cheddar for the top and the kids always squirted extra ketchup on the top before eating, too! Plus, my mother would always give us the bread "insides" for a snack that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wow! This was very simple to make and it tasted great. As other reviews have stated, the bread was a little overdone by the time the meat was cooked, but for me it was only a few millimeters on the outside that were crunchy - the inside of the bread was still soft. Maybe the fact that I used one of our homemade loaves made a difference. Anyway, I will certainly be making this one again. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Great flavor! Substituted sun chips for corn flakes because I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have been eating this recipe for 50 years and it is one of my favorites. I make it exactly the same minus the onion. It was originally called "Longboy Cheeseburgers". She saw it in a magazine when she was getting her hair done. It's one of our family traditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GAMMA KATSY
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The flavor was good, but like others said, I cooked the meat first. Very easy and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States