Sad Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I have to make this cake often. My kids request it. We love it. Its quick easy and made with ingredients I already have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Oh Em Gee!!! A coworker just brought this to our Christmas party. It was so delightful. I dont even like coconut and I loved this cake. I dont care if its sad cause it sure made me happy. I printed the recipe and will be making it myself soon! So moist and not overly rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is the best cake ever! Very rich...almost pecan pie-like. It's very sad looking..sunk in the middle..but YUMMY! When I opened the over I was convinced I had overcooked it because i was sunk in the middle - but NOPE, totally normal!! And if you like edges, this is the cake for you! I used peanuts instead of pecans and it was still great, although the pecans would have been great, too! Next time. I will make this again (and again!) for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic Sunday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My husband who doesnt like most cakes but loves this cake! It is so easy and even with cutting the servings it still taste great. I was so happy to find this receipe. I found it in my great aunts receipebook and could not read the amount of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Oh my goodness so good. The recipe confused me a little cause it called for oil but didn't say to add it but I did anyway. My cake didn't really fall but it did sink a little bit. I didn't have any nuts so I didn't add the pecans but i did add chocolate chips. I probably wouldn't like it as much without the chocolate but the crunch from pecans, walnuts, or maybe even peanuts would be nice. This is kind of a mix between a cookie bar and a cake. If you like chocolate you must try with a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I used semi-sweet chips but butterscotch or m&ms would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
this cake was freakin' amazing. i added some butterscotch chips as recommended by some people, and it turned out really well. i ended up cutting it into squares and it was like eating a cookie. really chewy, but in a good way. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnamonzombie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I just made this cake and it is so easy and delicious. I only made half a recipe to try it and because it is just me and my husband, but I could eat the whole thing by myself! You don't have to add anything to it, but you could if you wanted to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Awesome! But I wouldn't call it cake. It's more like a blondie but stickier. Very rich, if you like that kind of thing (I do!). Super fast and eas y to put together, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe is totally hard to rate with out being cruel or kind. Some where in this recipe, it didn't turn out like I thought it should. I guess I was thinking that it would bake all the way through but for me it didn't. While the batter was great in flavor, ease with ingredients, and ease with overall time spent on putting together was a 5. However, I did this eactly to the T. I watched intensely to make sure I'd see where it would fall during the baking process. I guess I was assuming it would do like a German Pancake. The edges totally rose up and crusted quickly the top crusted as well. So the whole time it smelled like it was burning...Hense the brown sugar part. When I tapped it a couple of times because another reviewer said you really couldn't test with a toothpick and expect it to come out clean..I didn't do that test. I had it in there 35 minutes and it still jiggled in the center, I waited and checked every 5 minutes after totally 45 minutes. I pulled out and let it cool completely, it only sank 1/2 inch, smelled great. Tried to cut it...and that totally didn't work, it was goopy, and still a thick batter in the center. For being a sad cake, that hit the nail on the board. For flavor, it was good. For it's done-ness it was a complete flop, For it being called a cake, not hardly. Some where in this recipe there's too much of something, which I believe it had too much brown sugar, possibly a cup to much and maybe reduce an egg. I won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used toffee chips instead of the pecans and I did add a yummy glaze... but I really loved the texture of this. My whole family enjoyed it. It was sweet and chewy. Very good and nice to have something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States