Rye Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I love this recipe!! My husband's family introduced me to this recipe, though it's slightly different from the one here. We use green onions and always, always real bacon that is cut into pieces, NOT bacon bits. I make it for New Year's Eve...I'm just about to make it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Very good! These were eaten up pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These rye rounds were great. I didn't measure any think, but I think it would be pretty hard to ruin. I used just enough mayo to get everything to stick together. Everyone loved them. I followed another reviewers suggestion to toast the bread first. It worked great. We ate them with homemade tomato soup. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We make a similar recipe every New Year's Eve, but we use Swiss cheese instead of cheddar, and we don't use bacon bits. I have a good tip for making these even better. The big complaint we used to get was how soggy they are. If you first toast your cocktail rye bread before putting the mixture on, that will make them less soggy. You can even toast them up hours before needing them. Just keep the toasted rye bread slices in a zip top bag until you need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I thought I had bacon bits, but when I got ready to make the recipe.....I discovered I did not. I made it anyway, and it was great! I can only imagine how good it would be if I had the bacon in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
QUESTION?? CAN THE MAYONNAISE BE SUBSTITUTED WITH CREAM CHEESE OR SOUR CREAM???? HELP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
My husband DID love this recipe! I put it on English muffins and baked them for about 15 minutes. I crumbled up some leftover bacon from breakfast and used a little more mayo. I used some dill cheddar cheese that I found at the farmer's market. As Rachael would say, it was CRAZY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
We've had a similar recipe in our family for years. We don't put the bacon in the cheese mixture, we sprinkle it on top. We also bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes. The bacon becomes crispy not greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Very similar to what my husband's NaNa made and everyone gobbled up----we add 1-2 tsp. of Carroway seeds to give it a bit more flavor. It's a tried and true favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These were just ok. Yeah, the men liked them, but didn't go crazy for them. Way too much cheddar cheese. After broiling these they were also very greasy, not crispy. I might make again, I don't know. Nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States