Rye Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Very good! These were eaten up pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These rye rounds were great. I didn't measure any think, but I think it would be pretty hard to ruin. I used just enough mayo to get everything to stick together. Everyone loved them. I followed another reviewers suggestion to toast the bread first. It worked great. We ate them with homemade tomato soup. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We make a similar recipe every New Year's Eve, but we use Swiss cheese instead of cheddar, and we don't use bacon bits. I have a good tip for making these even better. The big complaint we used to get was how soggy they are. If you first toast your cocktail rye bread before putting the mixture on, that will make them less soggy. You can even toast them up hours before needing them. Just keep the toasted rye bread slices in a zip top bag until you need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I thought I had bacon bits, but when I got ready to make the recipe.....I discovered I did not. I made it anyway, and it was great! I can only imagine how good it would be if I had the bacon in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
QUESTION?? CAN THE MAYONNAISE BE SUBSTITUTED WITH CREAM CHEESE OR SOUR CREAM???? HELP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
My husband DID love this recipe! I put it on English muffins and baked them for about 15 minutes. I crumbled up some leftover bacon from breakfast and used a little more mayo. I used some dill cheddar cheese that I found at the farmer's market. As Rachael would say, it was CRAZY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
We've had a similar recipe in our family for years. We don't put the bacon in the cheese mixture, we sprinkle it on top. We also bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes. The bacon becomes crispy not greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Very similar to what my husband's NaNa made and everyone gobbled up----we add 1-2 tsp. of Carroway seeds to give it a bit more flavor. It's a tried and true favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These were just ok. Yeah, the men liked them, but didn't go crazy for them. Way too much cheddar cheese. After broiling these they were also very greasy, not crispy. I might make again, I don't know. Nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
The guys did go crazy over these, but the girls didn't complain about them. Just a weird phenomenon with the guys - who knew?! I made the cheese mixture a day early and put it in the fridge - for easy prep on the day of the party. Had some cheese mixture left over and made AWESOME chili nachos with it. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States