Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
I add dark molasses instead of the white sugar. It brings out the flavor more. Also, this bread is great with chili, soups, breakfast, and for making ham sandwiches. Try it! Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
Since finding this recipe, I rarely bake any other rye bread. I like using a very dark stout beer. With lighter beers, I add a bit of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This recipe worried me a bit because I had all-purpose flour and wanted a higher proportion of rye flour. But even with 3 cups of rye and 2 of all-purpose, it rose beautifully. I made rolls and sprinkled the caraway seeds thickly on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
It's probably not fair to even rate this recipe because I changed it so much. I didn't let the beer/flour mixture sit overnight, just for about 1 1/2 hours. I used whole wheat instead of rye and I used honey instead of sugar. I also subbed 1 c. flax flour for 1 of the cups of bread flour. anyway, it still came out good. the only thing I'd change next time is maybe doubling the honey or adding a little sugar. It's got a great texture but w/ all of my changes, it needs a little more sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This recipe is pretty good. However, I don't think it rose well. It took at least twice as long to rise and even then it didn't rise all that much. Maybe it was my fault. ONE NOTE: previous reviews state that you might want to use a dark/strong beer. On this advice, I used a Samuel Adams Boston Lager. TOO BITTER. Next time I will use an ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
very good recipe i found it better to let the dough rise at least an hour or more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
An excellent hearty bread. I used a dark beer and it blended beautifully with the rye. The crust is very thick and the inside nice and tender. The end of the loaf got shoved to the back of my refrigerator for a week and I just discovered it. It held up very well (didn't dry out like other breads) and is GREAT toasted. I'll be making this again this weekend when my in-laws are here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiceSteele
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I loved this bread. Very dense and chewy, and it makes an excellent Reuben sandwich. I used Heineken, but next time I think I'll try a stronger beer like Warsteiner. I also added an extra tablespoon of caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was surprised to find that this is nearly identical to a recipe I THOUGHT I had invented. Alas... To make a darker and slightly more flavorful bread, use dark/stout beer, molasses, and two TBS of instant coffee. Also suggest using two tablespoons of vinegar as yeast nutrient and dough conditioner. Boil the beer and cool before adding other ingredients. Boiling the beer sours it a bit for a stronger rye bread flavor. Three heaping TBS of sour cream will add a lot to the texture, taste, and shelf-life of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
In a word awesome, Absolutely worth the time! I recommend that if you have a small clay cooker to use it for this bread. But it only made one large loaf in the romertopf (clay cooker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States