Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Such a tasty bread! I added a variety of seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, millet, etc.) rather than caraway. In reading through others' experiences, I got some great ideas. This is a "keeper" recipe for me. I am a non-beer drinker and was clueless as to what to use - I got the one and only beer item sold singly - Magnum 32. The bread turned out just fine - but I am going to use some of the other suggestions for a perhaps less strong beer taste. Although - I actually found it quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
We used Left Hand's Milk Stout (but no caraway), and the flavor enhances this bread amazingly. Absolutely delicious! Thank you, Kitty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flaminmerkin
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
came out lovely :) num num num adding a photo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great Bread! Used Ale and the loaf was not bitter. Very easy and the recipe is easy to follow with excellent results. My only change was that I used fresh cake yeast instead of the pouches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoa eh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The Best!!!!! I did make a few changes. 2 1/4 cups beer, 5 Tbs melted shortening, 3 Tbs molasses, 1 tsp sugar, 2 Tbs cocoa powder, and 3 Tbs caraway seed. I let the beer/rye flour/yeast mixture set for only 6 hours before making the bread. I also let the bread rise for about 1 hour for each rise time. I baked at 375 degrees instead of 400 degrees for about 30 to 35 min. I put in the oven for 15 minutes then pull out and brush with egg wash then put it back in the oven and continue baking until finished. My family ate an entire loaf in less than an hour! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Day

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yummy!! Made exactly as stated except used parchment paper on a cookie sheet and slashed the tops just before baking. I used Guinness Extra Stout Beer, which imparted a wonderful flavor for the senses. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnite Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Followed this recipe almost exactly (omitted the cornmeal). Made the sponge with a Sam Adams Winter Lager and let it sit a bit longer than 15 hours. Baked in a regular bread pan as one loaf rather than dividing into two and yielded 16 thick slices. Really liked the addition of the caraway and didn't find that the beer made the bread bitter at all. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This dough seems very thick and dense, but rises well to produce a soft, pleasantly chewy bread after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is a nice rye bread. I used molasses instead of sugar and added a heaping tablespoon of vital wheat gluten because I wanted a nice rise on it. It rose beautifully and made excellent reuben sandwiches. I do wish it was a little more robust in flavor, but for people that don't love dark breads, the fact that it isn't might be a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I don't like rye bread, but wanted to try this since I know I like beer bread. I followed the recipe and used Leinenkugel's Creamy Dark for the beer. Strong and rich in flavor, it is excellent. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States