Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I have tried about 20 rye bread recipes over the past 5 years, all results very disappointing. When I found this recipe I wasn't expecting much, but had hope due to the positive comments left. I followed the recipe with a couple exceptions. I used 1 Tbsp sugar and 1 Tbsp molasses. I used a Honey Lager, next time will use a stout. All I can say is THANK YOU! Finally a rye bread that turned out great! First rising time about 2 hrs, the second about 90 minutes. I had a nice soft and workable dough, but only used about 2 1/3 cups of the white bread flour. It came out of the oven at 2:00pm, and it is now 7:30 pm, and I have only 1/4 of my bread left. AWESOME. You won't be disappointed.......UPDATE! 1 week later and Ive made it again using Alexander Keiths Red Amber. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I LOVE making bread, & STILL, after 55 years of baking bread, if I have an even "slight" problem with rising, I HAVE to look at the yeasts, and or baking powders or baking soda! Even if you "just bought it" consider the turnover in the store you purchased it from. If it's a large market, the turnover is likely to be better. AND, don't be afraid to look in the back for the freshest possible. Your time & ingredients are too important to feel you can't look there ! I throw out spices & powders & soda pkg.s much more often than most, and I can't remember the last time I had a problem with rising yeast breads OR quick breads. HTH & blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This bread is truly strange. The really odd thing is it had such a strong beer taste! I used a Boston lager beer. I also had to double the rise time on the second rise. My yeast was new, but this bread did not get a spring in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
ahhh no big deal, I dont think its worth the extra calories from the beer. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I've now made this bread several times and it has turned out very well. I use Guinness Draft or Stout as the bear for a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The first rise (in the bowl) was OK, but once in the pans it took 1.5 hrs to rise to a barely acceptable loaf size. Then they "shrank" during baking and came out small & dense (like a quick bread. Flavor was good, but won't make again because of the rising trouble (even after so much yeast!)I am at high altitude, but haven't had this problem with other breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Delicious crusty rye bread. This dough was not easy to work with, and I was concerned it was going to come out of the oven as hard as a hockey puck. But it baked up beautifully, and although not what I'd consider super soft in texture, I certainly wouldn't call it dense either, and it's suitable for sandwiches. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used a dark oatmeal stout, mixing a tablespoon or so of molasses along with the remaining sponge ingredients to sit overnight. To raise, I heated my oven to 200' then turned it off and put the bread in the oven loosely covered with parchment to double. I divided the dough into two bread pans to bake. Before placing in the oven I slashed the top of the loaves with a very sharp knife, to allow the bread to rise better. The resulting bread is chewy, beery, and yeasty-- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I'm sure the flavor is greatly affected by the beer one chooses to use. I used a home brewed nut brown ale, and the bread was delicious. We sliced it while still warm to use for some pastrami sandwiches, and it was dense enough to hold up to the slicing, but not ovely heavy. I had not read through the recipe beforehand and didn't see that it required an overnight rest. So be forewarned that this is a two-day project. It's well worth the extra time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
First batch was a little too salty for our taste. I changed it to 1 t. salt instead of 1 T. salt and it was perfect. Definitely will be adding this recipe to my GO TO list - very easy to make, moist, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States