RWOP Finalist: Asparagus and Parmesan Cream Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
We really enjoyed this! I agree with others that there is too much cream cheese filling and the lemon was a tad overpowering. I did love the addition of fresh basil. Ate it with a salad for a light supper. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Great recipe--mostly followed the directions and it turned out excellent. Added some garlic powder to the cream cheese mixture, and omitted extra salt (Parmesan is salty enough in my opinion!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was okay, but I was expecting a bit more flavor. I used only 2 Tbs. of lemon juice and am glad I did because I think it would have been quite bland without it. Maybe it would be even better had I used the entire 3 Tbs. The lemon juice gave the cream cheese mixture a bit of tang but it didn't really taste lemony. The pastry dough I used was 16.5" x 10.25" in total size (before cut into fourths), and I found that I had just the right amount of cream cheese mixture for it, so I'm not sure why some reviewers said there was too much of the mixture. Maybe they don't really like cream cheese, or maybe they used a smaller sized dough than I did. I baked mine in the middle oven rack for 18 minutes. The asparagus turned out only slightly crisp, just the way I like it. Also, I'm not sure how necessary the basil is in this, since I couldn't really taste it. I'm sure even dried basil would be fine or even none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is one of our favorite side dishes! The only thing I change is I use about half the lemon juice, as the full 3 T is a little too much for our taste. Other than that...it's perfect as is! A good alternative version of this recipe is to replace the lemon juice with lime juice, use cilantro instead of basil, add some chopped jalapenos, and top with either chopped peppers and/or tomatoes. Great as a side for tacos or enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
this was absolutely delicious!! the filling had a much better flavor than i was expecting. the only reason i'm giving it 4 stars is...WAY too much filling! i loved the filling flavor but my fiance says he would cut down on the cream cheese ratio. so we will try that next time, and cut down the filling by half or more. also i did not add more parm on top. i think it would've been too much now that i've tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
3.5 stars. This really could have done without the extra salt and Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. And for one sheet of puff pastry, I found 4 oz of softened cream cheese to be more than enough. I added chives to the cream mixture, which I liked. Probably would be four stars the next time I make this if I omit the extra Parm and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Delicious and unique recipe! I would use a bit less cream cheese mixture next time, but otherwise very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I've done something similar with various vegetables but what makes this recipe a winner is the combination of ingredients for the cheese spread. Tastes sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is my first review, but my new husband liked this so much he sent me a text the next day, "My wife cooks better than a professional chef!" We both loved the rich and tangy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made this yesterday for my husband and he loved it. We had it with a Mediterranean style salad and the combo was just delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Frittata Primavera

See how simple it is to liven up a classic spring brunch.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States