Ruth's Red Lentil and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made this just the way the recipe said to and it was great! I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great combination of spices! I didn't have celery, so used mushrooms and an extra carrot. Instead of kale, I used up some dark, leafy green lettuce. Wonderful soup with a super taste! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I have never made anything lentil before so this was an experiment. I didn't know what file powder was so I left it out. I was out of allspice so I didn't use that either. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was delicious. The spices were different and interesting. Next time I will serve it over a little bit of rice with some naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
i excluded most of the vegetables except lentils and kale and added chopped tomatoes. the spices were great, but i ended up with way too much water :( it was good though and next time i'll use less water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Wonderful, flavorful soup. Tried this recipe on one last good "soup" day of the year, also needed to use up some lentils. Sauteed onion, carrots, celery and garlic first. Added all the rest together (except kale) and simmered until everything cooked (used fennel seed also for secret ingredient). Turned out quite thick, added more broth and some water (used chicken broth instead of vegetable), omitted file powder. Used spinach instead of kale. Served with buttered, broiled french bread. Hubby and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I added about a cup of tomato sauce (keep in mind I halved the recipe!) because I couldn't stand the gray/yellow colour the lentils leave, but otherwise followed the recipe to the T. It was very tasty and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great flavor, great soup!! Didn't have the whole 1.5 cups lentils, so I threw in 1/2 cup quick cooking barley. Also used more than the recommended amount of spices. I didn't need to add any water to mine either. The broth was plenty. I used split lentils and the whole thing was done cooking in about 25min. It was really satisfying and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie_C_S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This WAS good, however next time I'll use fewer potatoes - they gave the soup a thick mealy consistency which may be good or not good depending upon what you want...otherwise great thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States