Ruth's Red Lentil and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I used homemade broth which had no salt in it, so I did need to add some salt. I liked the addition of garam masala -- I didn't have file, and was happy with this as a substitute. For those who like some astringency, I added a splash of sherry vinegar to the serving bowl and it added a wonderful dimension to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My family really enjoy this soup. We will make it again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Simply delicious! Even though I didn't have vegetable broth, the spices were sufficient in giving the soup a wonderful flavor. Next time I will make it with vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good, solid recipe. I used sweet potatoes instead of red, 3 carrots, 2 cups of frozen kale, and doubled the spices. I did not use any file powder. The soup turns out thick and hearty, very much like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This soup was surprisingly good. As one reviewer advised, I kept a close eye on the lentils, only cooking them for 20 minutes or less before they were done. Next time I make it I will add a lot more cilantro and kale (I expected the kale to be weird, but it was great) and I will double the spices--except maybe the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Fantastic soup. I added more cumin and left out the cilantro and file since I didn't have any. I added pieces of spicy sausage and loved it. This is going to make the regular rotation this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious, great blend of spices. Didn't have any celery, so used extra carrots and also substituted the kale with spinach. Used a masher at the end because I wanted it just slightly less chunky. Couldn't find file but it was thick enough anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Really love this soup! I make it whenever my fiance is sick. I skip the allspice, swap kale for spinach and leave out the file powder. It's really hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessabelle_Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conyngham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My family LOVED this soup and gobbled it all up! I didn't have a lot of the ingredients so these are the changes I made: 1/2 stick (more) of butter, dried garlic (didn't have fresh on hand), no allspice or cloves, chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, no kale, cilantro or file powder. I used extra celtic sea salt and added Oregano (on a whim), but followed the basic instructions with what I had. All that to say, if you don't have every ingredient, it's worth making anyway. We are making a double batch of this today it was so good. ** Editing to say that I've made this several more times and it's become a mainstay dish for our family. I prefer it with Kale and we love the added Cilantro at the end. I usually make it with roast or chicken that I've cooked in the crockpot which gives me the broth that I need and some meat to put in as well. Everyone we've had this with has loved it, so it's a great "company" dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States