Ruth's Red Lentil and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Did not have Allspice or File, and did not want Cayenne, but the clove and cumin (ground) were a great combo. Canola oil instead of butter. I made a larger batch (more than double), so improvised with a sliced red bell pepper (good color) and no kale (nearly added spinach towards the end). I added some sea salt at the end since my veg. broth was low sodium. I also used pearl onions instead of chopped. Next time the potatoes will be a little larger (too soft in long boil) and more carrots. Great recipe for modification (go curry, go oregano/basil, go spicy) and for vegan diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved it! But I did change up a few things, instead of chicken broth I used 6 cups f water and added (Better than Bouillon). Also didn't put cloves or allspice, so I added 2 tablespoons of cumin and 2 tablespoons of dried mint and cilantro. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I'm starting to hope I did something wrong here, because I thought this soup, even with the seasonings, was bland, bland, bland. Even adding a few shakes of salt did not give this soup any real flavor. Only changes I made were normal onion instead of a sweet onion, no file powder, and regular lentils instead of red, but I don't see that throwing off the flavor that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I was cleaning out the fridge and wanted to use up some kale, celery, parsey and potatoes. This soup is full-bodied and delicious. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this with red cabbage instead of kale. I found it unique and quite liked it. My husband made a face, but decided he liked it after he added a lot of hot pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
family loved it! easy and yummy. Used ground cumin and more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieB

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hastings, New York, USA
Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
We loved the latin flavor palate in this soup. Unfortunately my grocery store doesn't carry red lentils so we used "regular" dry lentils (the brownish-green kind.) I don't know if it tasted differently than it was intended, but it was good! Very earthy and satisfying. (I omitted the file powder.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Thanks, this was wonderful, I made it this weekend. I made it as directed except I was out of kale, cloves and file. My son who doesn't care for lentils loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States