Ruth's Red Lentil and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I tried it. Excellent. Strange, I lived in Louisiana many years ago, and I heard about "File Gumbo". Wasn't quite sure what it was. I was in the store last week, and I saw "File powder" on the shelf. I figured I would try the recipe. Strange to cook without salt or meat. I did not have any kale, so I substituted collards. Came out OK. Will definetly make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cemab4y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Good and very flavorful. I sometimes make a plain red lentil soup, so this is a nice variation from that. If you're cooking for kids, beware that flavor is probably too strong for the young palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I left out the celery (used a whole bag of carrots instead & added celery salt) and the file powder. Went to 2 different stores, neither had red lentils, so I bought the only ones they had - they were not green, they looked tan to me. I always tweak the spices to suit our tastes, but I stayed pretty true to what the recipe suggested. I used olive oil instead of butter. And I wound up having to use well over 4 cups of water, so I don't think the file powder was necessary anyway. Used a whole bag of chopped kale and a bag of frozen spinach. One thing I wasn't planning on doing differently - my husband brought home baking potatoes instead of the red ones, and I don't like the way they come out in soups. So, I left them out and served baked potatoes with this. We both enjoyed the soup. I think I will make it again sometime (with the potatoes in it) if I can find red lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Really excellent. I used sweet potatoes instead of red, and it was yummy. I'll make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Fabulous, the spices are what makes this soup! And it's so healthy. I added extra carrots and kale. No file needed. It was already thick from the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Lovely winter recipe... I halved the recipe and it made about 4 servings. I added 5 pieces of bacon (which worked very well, for the non veggies out there). I didn't use the file powder as the lentils thickened it up and I also left out the kale as my boyf hates leafy greens and it was still delicious. Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious. I didn't have allspice so I used garam masala instead. I also didn't use the cilantro because I don't like it but other than that I followed the recipe pretty closely and it was a really, really good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
So good! I made two weeks in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicious and easy!! Five stars! I didn't have file powder so I used a creole seasoning. All else is according to recipe. Except for the cup of IPA. Wow the flavors are awesome. A hit with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States