Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was so amazing! I completely suck at crusts and this worked out... a little hard to handle since its softer than a traditional crust but I think you can remedy that with popping it into the freezer as you go. AWESOME for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I've tried many pie crust recipe before and always hunted for the perfect one. I'm glad I tried this one. Its just what I was looking for. A balance of sweet and salt. Flaky enough but not to the point of crumbling when sliced. As most reviewers pointed out. its actually good for 3 single pie crust and not 4. Unless you use it for those lattice top pies, the this recipe would suffice for 2 pies. I would be using this recipe for all my pies from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I doubled the recipe and made 3 pies. They are correct its only enough for 3 crusts the way it's written. Best crust I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This crust is excellent, although I felt that 2 tsp. of salt was too much. Next time, I'll try 1/2 the amount of recommended salt instead. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was so easy and all of the pies have been big hits with my family. It freezes so well you will be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Perfect as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a great, fool proof recipe. I especially liked not having to use ice water. It came out sturdy and flaky. I use a pie crust rolling bag and found that there was plenty enough for 4 crusts. Crust should be thin. If you are only making three out of this, you are using too much per crust. Divide your crust into 4 equal balls and use a rolling bag or plastic wrap to roll it out thin and you will like the results better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This receipe was amazing. Thank you for sharing. It was very easy to make and I followed the advice from one of the reviews to use wax paper when rolling out the dough. It was my first time making pie crust and it was well received by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Perfect! Flaky, delicious and wonderful. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scout
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This crust is amazing! I loved it! I brushed the bottom crust with egg and baked it for 15 minutes before assembling the pie, which worked and kept the crust from getting soggy, but the crust shrank a little bit during this process, so next time I will roll it out bigger. The crust also seemed to expand a little when baking (probably because it is so flaky), so don't be afraid to roll it thin. I rolled it 2 inches wider than my pie pan, on top of wax paper, and then flipped the paper on top of the pie pan to transfer. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States