Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
WOW, tried this recipe today 5/20/2015 and it was super easy to put together. Easier than any other pie crust recipe, I believe due to the egg. No extra water was required. I thought perhaps the shortening seemed like an awful lot, But, it's exactly correct and this rolled out like a dream, I even made my first lattice top crust and it was a huge success, paired w/the blueberry pie recipe, from this site*!* My Thanks to Barbara C and her Grandma Ruth, a genious even then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I always use this pie crust recipe - and it always turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I have been baking since I was a child, and like many others it took me many years to perfect the art of pie crust. Unfortunately I recently lost many of my recipes and found myself sifting through the numerous recipes online. This is a terrific recipe and after making it several times I have found it to be true every time to the listed measurements. The only change I make is to add 1 Tbsp of white vinegar. Thank you for all the previous reviews that helped me choose this recipe and for the person who took the time to post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
First time making crust and will definitely use this crust again. I use unsalted butter turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nabilla Baagil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Perfect! I used it to make a scrumptious blueberry and cherry pie and it turned out deliCIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made a cranberry apple pie with this crust recipe and got good reviews from my family. One even liked the crust more than the pie filling. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid the additives in store-bought crusts, but it has a bit of shortening in it, so if you're looking to be healthy, I suggest a shortening alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Awesome, delicious, perfect flakey crust great for quiche and pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Mahar Carter
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I am SO excited! I've never had luck with my mother's crust recipe so I just assumed I was the problem. That changed yesterday when I found this recipe for Pi Day! So easy to make, a cinch to roll, beautiful to look at, delicious to eat. If you fear making pie crust...try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Delicious! I baked in a tart pan at 350 for 15 mins, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Super yummy pie crust. I had reservations about trying this recipe because of the sugar. I wanted a neutral pie crust that could be used in either sweet or savory pies. Based upon another review, I decided to try this one on a chicken pot pie. It was fabulous and no one noticed the sweetness (I did use a bit less than 3T of sugar). My "shortening" was a combination of coconut oil and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States