Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
VERY VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I used this recipe to make my very first pie (chicken pot pie) and was amazed at how easy it was to make. I shamefully admit that while the innards didn't taste very good, I would actually pick off pieces of the crust and eat them. Thank you, Ruth's Grandma and Barbara for passing on this wonderful recipe! It has become my new go-to pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Wonderful! I was nervous about making this as I am a new baker but I couldn't believe how easy it was! I refrigerated the dough for 1 hour before use and rolled it out between 2 pieces of parchment pap. I traced the top of pie plate on the top piece of paper as a guide to see how far to roll which I found very helpful. I was able to get 3 crusts.. My new go to crust! Perfect with Grandma Ople's Apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a great basic pie crust recipe for using shortening! I cut it down to 28 servings and still had way too much, but I'll use the leftovers for poptarts :). I think next time I might put butter in it, but that's just personal preference..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Made this to go with blueberry pie. I thought it was perfect and didn't change anything. A very delightful, flaky crust. This will be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna Brennfoerder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is an excellent crust. It is easy to work with and turned out very flaky and flavorful. My husband and I both loved it. Used it for the Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie from this site. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I've never made pie crust before. And I made a last minute buttermilk pie and needed a last minute pie crust recipe. Thank goodness for Barbara Castodio! When they say it is no fail, it is no fail! I made it exactly as posted & it was perfect. I only made one pie, and I didn't need top & bottom crust. I couldn't tell you one way or another if it made an adequate amount for two pies. But I can tell you that I have enough pie dough left over that as soon as I get home from work, I will be making another buttermilk pie w/this crust. What a life saver and what an amazing crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I have struggled with pie dough for years. This recipe is fail-proof, easy and delicious. It also freezes well for later use. Sharing the namesake also makes me smile :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhaneeRuth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This yummy recipe makes 4 single crusts at once!! Yay for time savings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States