Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was my first pie crust, too. I'm currently expecting and was really hankering for some pear and apple pie but I'd used my last store-bought crust on quiche last week. So I gave this a go. Unfortunately, the shortening I thought I had wasn't in the cupboard so I used 1 1/4 c of butter instead as another reviewer was short on shortening(lol) and used butter to make up the difference. I have to say that so far, so good! It does only seem to make 3 crusts, rather than the 4 mentioned in the recipe but I love crumble toppings so no worries there. Pie is baking now so I can't vouch for the taste yet, but I had no trouble with the texture (too wet, too dry) when rolling out. I even made a lattice/woven top for my pie since rolling the bottom was so easy. It looks amazing I can only imagine it'll taste great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac Zifos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used this recipe in making Blueberry Pie I, and it was delicious. I mixed the egg with only 1/4 cup water (suggested by another reviewer) and it made the dough plenty moist. I used some leftover for a beef pot pie. The flakiness was great but it was probably a bit sweet for a meat pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
As tasty and easy as all the positive reviews say. Its very crumbly and I find I have to refrigerate it before I can even roll it out to use it but that makes it all the tastier. As always with pie crusts I roll them out between two sheets of wax paper, makes it so much easier....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Amazing and fast!!!! I had enough for FOUR crusts!!!! You are a lifesaver!! I made it and used it right away!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Wonderful flavor (with butter-flavored shortening). I always make a half recipe. Very consistent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Quick to make and very light. I loved it and will continue to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I used White Lilly flour, 1 cup Crisco (in stick form), and 3/4 cup salted butter. First time I make a recipe I try very hard to stick to the original with no deviations. Unfortunately, we were snowed in and I only had 1 cup of Crisco- forced to substitute. Without a doubt, best crust I've ever made! The dough was very soft and delicate during the roll out. Not sure if this was because I was using a soft wheat flour but I wasn't complaining- presumed if dough was delicate it wouldn't be tough. Today, I made the recipe in the food processor. Thinking it was a mistake, dough was wet (had to add more flour after it came out of processor). It's chilling in refrig now, guess we'll see soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I've used this recipe a couple of times now and had no problem with handling the dough. I did substitute butter for half the shortening for taste but other than that followed the recipe. I also roll out my crust between 2 sheets of wax paper because it's much easier to transfer it to the pie plate that way. Great recipe, I don't know why some folks had such a difficult time with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Needs to be sweeter for my preference, but nice and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angimima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is the flakiest crust I've ever tasted! Easy to make and a cinch to work with. I miss the buttery flavor though so I plan to use butter flavored shortening next time - or I may add butter in place of some of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States