Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I can't believe how soft and flaky this crust was. I split in in 2, refrigerated them wrapped in over sized Saran Wrap, and rolled it in the wrap. Makes transferring to the pie dish easy. Loved it!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Came together nicely, easy to work with, enough left over after 2 deep dish pies to some in freezer another day, love love love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made it two years in a row for a total of 5 pies. I did not like it last year and I do not like it this year. i have high expectations for pie crust and this fails to meet them. Bland taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is my first time making this recipe, the ONLY reason I am giving it 5 stars is because I read the reviews prior to making. This recipe ONLY makes enough for 3 crusts, NOT 4 like it says. I am glad I am only making 2 pies (needed the 3rd crust for lattice) and not 4 because I would have been severely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Perfect crust! Easy to roll out and has a great flavor! I quartered the recipe because I only needed to make one pie, and it still worked out great! I used my left over crust after trimming it to make stuffed mini "pies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Love it!! Just what I was looking for, and it was easier than what I thought it would be! Thank you! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I am terrible at making pie crust, my Achilles heel in the kitchen and I avoid pie making if I can. I gave it one more shot with this recipe yesterday and happy to say I'm a convert! We made 5 crusts with one batch for aluminum 9" pie plates but a deep dish glass yielded only 3. Couldn't ask for a better pre baked crust with Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie from this site! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Thank you Lord for this recipe!!!! I bake a lot & had trouble w/ an 'old' recipe turning out hard. I tried this recipe ONLY changing it from 1 3/4 cup shortening to 1 cup shortening & 3/4 cup cold butter. I left out the salt because I learned if you're using salted butter you don't need the salt in the recipe. It doesn't make 4 crusts, only 3 but, WOW THIS IS JUST LIKE MY GREAT GRANDMOTHER MADE!!!! Easy to roll and tender yet flaky and crumbly. PERFECT!!!! I already saved this to my favorite recipes and will be using it from now on. Gramma's had all the good recipes. This is a MUST for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've used a lot of different pie crust recipes over the years, and I think this one is my least favorite to date. The pros to this recipe are that the dough is easy to work with, and there's a lot of it (easily enough to make a double pie crust in a 9" pan). The cons are that it is too wet & oily to make a good, flaky crust. This pie crust is so wet that its texture is almost more of a cookie dough. I think this is a good recipe for beginners to start with because the dough is so easy to work with, but the final product leaves a lot to be desired. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've been baking pies for years but decided to see what the top rated pie crust is on all-recipes. This pie crust is awesome! I love how easy it is to use (although my first attempt was rough because I didn't mix it enough). It is great with non sweet pies too. I tested it with a chocolate pie and meat pie. My husband said even though he knew it had sugar and it seemed sweet with the chocolate pie, you couldn't even tell with the meat pie. I'll be using it for all my pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States