Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This crust was easy to put together, looked beautiful, but was tough after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toni Ruiz Aguirre
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yes I love this receipe! Flakey and good. I had a lot of pies to make even a lemon pie. Not sure if it would pair up, or if u should have used a gram cracker crust. I'm glad I didn't. Thanks for the receipe this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Ruiz Aguirre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made several pie crusts with this recipe and was perfect. It came out nice and flaky and baked perfectly. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My first pie crust and it was AWESOME! I used "real" lard (rendered animal fat) which I bought awhile ago at an farmers market. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I made a lattice work top and a bottom crust for "Grandma Ople's Apple Pie (recipe found here) plus I made 2 bottom crusts for pumpkin pies. NEVER will I buy premade crusts again! This recipe was quick and simple. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Faddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I've always used store-bought pie crust, but wanted to make an apple pie, completely from scratch, for Thanksgiving. This recipe seemed simple and the reviews were great, so I tried it. I used butter-flavored shortening, and it came out flaky and delicious! Next time, I will start with 1/4c. water and add more if needed, as the 1/2c. made it a little too wet. I brushed it with milk and it baked up perfectly golden. Now I don't have to be intimidated by making a crust from scratch! This one would be great for anything - sweet or savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing! What a fantastic pie crust. I used other reviewers suggestions and halved this recipe for a 9" deep dish. Still had a decent amount of unused crust. The flavor and flakiness of this crust really complimented my pie. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Best I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gsbstanley
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Perfect just as it is. I just always add extra Cinnamon and an egg wash on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It was so fragile to work with that it fell apart trying to put it in the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This pie crust is ok, but not great! It was very easy to make and that is why I strayed from my usual crust recipe. The feel of the dough was awesome and the crumbs came together with no effort at all. The crust baked beautiful and even and I was excited to try it...but was not great! It was really salty and the odd thing was...I only used a single teaspoon, instead of the 2 teaspoons (which I thought was too much). Other things I am taking into consideration that may have made this crust taste not so great...I used Organic Flour and Non-Hydrogenated Shortening. I don't think this should impede on the taste, just the opposite, but it could've been the culprit to this recipe. Otherwise, I'll stick to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjv4EVER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States