Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe. I substituted butter for shortening, cutting into small pieces and followed the rest. It was best crust I ever made and it was gone too fast to take a picture??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Perfect! I have only attempted homemade crusts a few times and have never really had that much luck...UNTIL NOW...YAY!!!! I've made this 3 times in 3 days, and I get a ton of compliments with every pie. Super easy to whip together. I used shortening like the recipe calls for (instead of butter as some mentioned) and thought it had great taste. I love the crunch of the sugar. I used the recipe exactly as it said. I only have two recommendations that might be helpful. The first time I made this I put it in my Kitchen Aid mixer and used the paddle attachment to bring the dough together. It sort of clumped around in my mixer but I just put it on a higher speed for a few seconds and it came together perfectly. The next two times I made it I didn't have my mixer, so I had to do it by hand. I found it to be a bit crumbly and hard to blend, but I just broke it into smaller batches and worked each ball of dough separately. Secondly, I'd brush the dough with an egg before putting it in the oven. It gave it a nice shine and golden color that really made a difference. Lastly, it makes quite a bit. I had enough for 2 crusts and possibly a third, but I like my crust thick and with a wide edge so I probably didn't get as much out of it as most people did. This will absolutely be my new crust recipe! UPDATE: I made this for the 4th time but forgot to pick up shortening at the store. I substituted butter = horrible result. Using shortening is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Made this pie crust for all my pies for Thanksgiving. Thumbs up from everyone in the family. Flaky, melt in your mouth good. Easy to roll out and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Gannia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This crust was easy to put together, looked beautiful, but was tough after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toni Ruiz Aguirre
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yes I love this receipe! Flakey and good. I had a lot of pies to make even a lemon pie. Not sure if it would pair up, or if u should have used a gram cracker crust. I'm glad I didn't. Thanks for the receipe this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Ruiz Aguirre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made several pie crusts with this recipe and was perfect. It came out nice and flaky and baked perfectly. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My first pie crust and it was AWESOME! I used "real" lard (rendered animal fat) which I bought awhile ago at an farmers market. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I made a lattice work top and a bottom crust for "Grandma Ople's Apple Pie (recipe found here) plus I made 2 bottom crusts for pumpkin pies. NEVER will I buy premade crusts again! This recipe was quick and simple. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Faddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I've always used store-bought pie crust, but wanted to make an apple pie, completely from scratch, for Thanksgiving. This recipe seemed simple and the reviews were great, so I tried it. I used butter-flavored shortening, and it came out flaky and delicious! Next time, I will start with 1/4c. water and add more if needed, as the 1/2c. made it a little too wet. I brushed it with milk and it baked up perfectly golden. Now I don't have to be intimidated by making a crust from scratch! This one would be great for anything - sweet or savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing! What a fantastic pie crust. I used other reviewers suggestions and halved this recipe for a 9" deep dish. Still had a decent amount of unused crust. The flavor and flakiness of this crust really complimented my pie. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Best I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States