Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Nice recipe. Easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Finally I can make pie crust. This recipe is delicious and easy. I used this to make chicken pot pie. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Loved this recipe! Tasted just like my grandmas pie crust. Light, flaky and golden brown. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was easy and foolproof! I'll be using it to make all my pie crusts from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
First time making my own crust. This was so easy and so good. I made apple pie and even the bottom crust was not soggy and tastes good! It did ration out to enough for 4 crusts for me. I made it a day ahead, plastic wrapped, put in a quart bag, and refrigerated. Then left it out awhile to soften the next day. I put half in the freezer for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Instead of rolling the crust, I pressed it in the pie pan and that worked great. I did 10 servings and that made just the right amount for a 10 inch pie pan. I will cut the salt in 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This seriously is the best and easiest pie crust! Until this point, I had used my grandma's trusty pie crust recipe for all my pies, but I wanted to try something different for Christmas dessert. I only had a cup of shortening, so I also used unsalted butter, and the combination really worked well! This is a very tasty, flaky crust that is very easy to work with. I highly recommend it with the "Best Cherry Pie" recipe on this site! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
still in the process of baking it. What I don't get is many recipes never say how long to bake, does one need to prick the bottom? Sure would help people that are not as experienced in baking.... one more thing, do you grease the pie pan??? Wish people would complete the recipes !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Stock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Tasted like a pot pie crust rather than a dessert pie. I'm not a great baker but I can follow directions. It was hard to work with but I chalk that up to me..but the finished product was greasy and not sweet enough at all. Really not good for a fruit pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Meada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The first year I used this I made 27 different pies for the holidays. I had nothing but great compliments. As of this time I probably made more than 200 pies. Only recently I made a change. I now use 2 cups of shortening instead of 1 3/4 cups. It makes it a little more flaker. Also, it's real important to keep it as cold as possible until ready to stick in thr oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Milam
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Huffman, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States