Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is my go to pie crust. I refuse to use any other. My dad, who is the ultimate food critic, can find no fault in it. The recipe does not tell you to use ice water(watch the video). Also cool the dough in the fridge for an hour so it isn't too sticky. I substitute butter flavored baking sticks in lieu of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is amazing. I've used it a couple times; once mixing it to a cookie dough consistency, added the egg and water, turned it into a soupy mess, added some more flour mixing by hand. The end result was still flaky pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I am no baker by any means but decided to try this and surprise my wife of 30 years who is an accomplished baker. I used the crust I made for a chicken pot pie and son....not going to say it was the best there ever was, but I have not had any better. Great crust! I would agree with another reviewer that there is not quite enough for two full crusts. Or maybe I could have rolled it thinner if I had known what I was doing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
the best pie crust I have ever made! I used it for apple tarte tatin and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robinson
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Sensational! Never used egg in crust before and this is now my all-time favorite recipe and will use it in the future! Was a little curious how it was going to work using a measured amount of water where as most other recipes have you add a little at a time until the consistency is right. To my surprise, this worked out perfectly with the right amount of moisture. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I followed this to a T and it was TOO flaky, I couldn't even roll it out when it was raw. It completely fell apart after refrigerating it for a few hours.I was only able to get 2 crusts out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe has convinced me to try pie making again! I have always had trouble with crust. I had a good recipe, but the dough was so hard to work that I gave up on pies. My husband volunteered me to make a pie for someone this weekend, so I had to deliver. I tried this recipe because of the reviews, and I am *so glad* I did! It was easy to make with ingredients I had on hand, and the dough was a breeze to work with. I was afraid it wouldn't turn out because it was so much easier than I have come to expect when making crust. I was rewarded with perfect, flaky crust. I made it exactly as written, but next time I think I will try the butter flavored shortening to take it to the next level. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Finally I have found a pie crust that ALWAYS turns out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Perfect; easiest pie crust I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I think that that the only problem for me is the shortening, because in my opinion its not healthy I am going to try butter or oil or something a little healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States