Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
So, I guess I've been doing pie crust wrong my whole life. This was fantastic and puts my BH&G recipe to shame. The liquid didn't seem like it would be enough but it totally was, use a little less if it's humid out. I split it into 3 crusts and rolled into 12 inch circles. I would just add a 1/2 tsp. of salt for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Absolutely flaky, tender, delicious! Love this. Made exactly as recipe directed (for once!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This pie crust was so easy to make but I didn't have a pastry cutter but I just used a stand up mixer and it came out just fine this pie crust is so good and crumbly this is now my go to recipe now for pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Perfect, classic crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
It was hard to roll out and work with. I just could not get it thin enough without it falling apart. It makes enough for three crusts. I tried it again, thinking I did not measure right, maybe. It was really hard to work with, stuck to everything even with lots of flour. It just does not have the consistency to get from the counter rolled out to the pie plate without falling into 5-10 pieces. But I love the taste! (My husband says it tastes like cake!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Very large recipe! Provided an amazingly thick crust. Also a while back I heard a rumor that if you substitute the water with vodka it makes the crust extra flakey. I substituted all the water with vodka and it was super flakey with no taste change. My mum loves eating the dough raw so she snuck some of this raw dough from me and she loved it. Said it was the best crust she ever had! Vodka and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiebeck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
VERY VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I used this recipe to make my very first pie (chicken pot pie) and was amazed at how easy it was to make. I shamefully admit that while the innards didn't taste very good, I would actually pick off pieces of the crust and eat them. Thank you, Ruth's Grandma and Barbara for passing on this wonderful recipe! It has become my new go-to pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Wonderful! I was nervous about making this as I am a new baker but I couldn't believe how easy it was! I refrigerated the dough for 1 hour before use and rolled it out between 2 pieces of parchment pap. I traced the top of pie plate on the top piece of paper as a guide to see how far to roll which I found very helpful. I was able to get 3 crusts.. My new go to crust! Perfect with Grandma Ople's Apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a great basic pie crust recipe for using shortening! I cut it down to 28 servings and still had way too much, but I'll use the leftovers for poptarts :). I think next time I might put butter in it, but that's just personal preference..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States