Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great pie crust! And, so easy. I made them ahead and froze them. They make 3 crusts (so, 1 double crust pie and 1 single crust pie). I made a pear pie with the single crust, and it came out perfectly. I made a steak n ale pie with the double and YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Well, I ventured into my own pastry making today and after reading reviews, I chose this one. And I am SO GLAD! Oh, this turned out amazing! I was a bit concerned when I was mixing it, it still seemed a bit dry, so just a touch more of the cold water made it perfect! I am so pleased! I am so glad for the reviews from all of you, those help so much! Especially for a first timer. Now I can't wait to make another pie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
If there were 10 stars I would click on all ten. This is the BEST pie crust. It easily makes enough for two fruit pies or 4 single crust pies. It freezes well and is ALWAYS crisp and holds onto the crispness even after being refrigerated for a few days. EASY TO WORK WITH AND DELICIOUS! thank you for this recipe. An egg? Who would have thought???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was the best ever made and I use butter instead of vegt oil, which makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Blondie Bumstead
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this dough/pastry recipe just as written, but added (with the water/egg mixture a half tsp white vinegar). The pastry when cooked was light, flaky and delicious! I will keep this recipe as my regular one for any pies (meat or fruit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this for a turkey pot pie I was making for dinner. It was the first crust I felt like I've made with success. I thought it turned out nicely. The hubby loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chmeliar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Its hard to do wrong with this recipe. I remember having lots of trouble with pie crust in the past and this was easy easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Easy and yummy!! This will be the pie crust recipe I use from now on. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I thought this recipe was very easy to make and easy to work with. I do agree with other reviewers who said it was more like 3 crusts, not 4. I took that suggestion and just cut it into 3 when I made the crust and it worked out perfectly. The crust is very flaky, just how I like. My husband and MIL agreed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I thought this recipe was easy BUT no one told me that it shrank a whole lot, I was shocked but now I know to make the sides really really high, it shrank down half way down my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nanakuli, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States