Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Needs to be sweeter for my preference, but nice and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angimima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is the flakiest crust I've ever tasted! Easy to make and a cinch to work with. I miss the buttery flavor though so I plan to use butter flavored shortening next time - or I may add butter in place of some of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I cannot make a pie crust except for this one. It always is moist & flakey. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe. Easy and no fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wonderful! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Perfect! I rolled out 8 crusts. Beautiful and easy to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was my second time ever making dough, (and possibly my last if this failed), but this lived up to it's name!! Incredibly easy to make, flaky, easy to roll, tasted lovely...I can't say enough. I am now a pie crust maker who has a "go to" recipe! FINALLY!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moi
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This Crust was fantastic!! I have never ever made pie crust on my own before. Sad I know... I am 42, but I always made it with my Nana. When she passed, well she took her recipe with her as well as my passion for making pies. Well this year I decided to give it a try! And this recipe came darn close!! I just made a few change's to make it closer to my Nana's recipe. Instead of all shortening I used 1 Cup of butter and 3/4 cups of shortening. It turned out flakey and wonderful! No burning, or too much browning around the edges. Also very flavorful! Thanks for sharing! I will add pictures the next batch of pies - for New Year's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitie & Jeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The best and very versatile. I made pies one night... then pot pies for dinner the next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Thanks to Ruth's Grandma, I won't buy another pie crust. Pie crusts scared me--they always seemed so difficult to make and I've failed a few times. Not only is this recipe simple, but it makes a darn good crust. A tip from my expert-baker mother-in-law: use very cold water (ice water) and don't handle the crust too much. That makes for a very flaky crust. This is a keeper. No more lousy processed pie crusts for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States