Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Wonderful flavor (with butter-flavored shortening). I always make a half recipe. Very consistent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Quick to make and very light. I loved it and will continue to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I used White Lilly flour, 1 cup Crisco (in stick form), and 3/4 cup salted butter. First time I make a recipe I try very hard to stick to the original with no deviations. Unfortunately, we were snowed in and I only had 1 cup of Crisco- forced to substitute. Without a doubt, best crust I've ever made! The dough was very soft and delicate during the roll out. Not sure if this was because I was using a soft wheat flour but I wasn't complaining- presumed if dough was delicate it wouldn't be tough. Today, I made the recipe in the food processor. Thinking it was a mistake, dough was wet (had to add more flour after it came out of processor). It's chilling in refrig now, guess we'll see soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I've used this recipe a couple of times now and had no problem with handling the dough. I did substitute butter for half the shortening for taste but other than that followed the recipe. I also roll out my crust between 2 sheets of wax paper because it's much easier to transfer it to the pie plate that way. Great recipe, I don't know why some folks had such a difficult time with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Needs to be sweeter for my preference, but nice and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angimima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is the flakiest crust I've ever tasted! Easy to make and a cinch to work with. I miss the buttery flavor though so I plan to use butter flavored shortening next time - or I may add butter in place of some of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I cannot make a pie crust except for this one. It always is moist & flakey. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe. Easy and no fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wonderful! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Perfect! I rolled out 8 crusts. Beautiful and easy to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States