Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I couldn't believe it... on my first try this came out really well. I didn't even know what I was really doing having not made a pie crust before. Will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Good recipe! Used it my first time making a homemade apple pie, it completed the pie recipe wonderfully. This will be my go to recipe when it comes to pie crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever made, and honey, I've made a few. I made a pumpkin pie on a Wednesday evening, refrigerated it overnight, served it cold the next day & the crust was light & flaky. We just finished it off tonight, 3 days later and this crust was STILL light & flaky! LOVE IT!!! It is my "new" pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Beard Pier
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe was easy to make. The crust had a good flavor and texture and everyone who ate it really liked it. However, it was difficult to work with because the ingredients did not yield four pie crusts (as stated by a previous reviewer). When I separated the dough into four equal pieces and tried to roll it out, it was almost impossible to get the crust large enough to fit in the pie dish. I had to roll it so thin that it started to dry out and split. I managed, but if you're just beginning your pie-making adventure, you may find it frustrating. I'll use the recipe again, but I'll remember the amount of dough will make three pie crusts generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My first attempt at home-made pie crust and this was a winner!! So easy and everyone loved them! I made pies for Thanksgiving and the family would like them again for Christmas, and with this recipe I will happily do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Sweet, good flavor. Keep everything very cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great recipe! Everyone went on and on about how flakey the crust was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Excellent, flaky crust. Halved recipe for one pie and had enough extra for 5 tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Grandma Ruth sure knows how to make the best pie crust in the world....no...the universe. No fretting about how to get it into the pie pan. Was actually fun smushing it around:) And the flavor was just terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I didn't have good luck with this recipe at all. After cutting the cold butter into the flour I added the ice water/egg mixture and stirred it up. It was still almost as crumbly as it was before I added the liquid. So I stirred in another 1/4 cp of ice water and the dough was still pretty crumbly. I added another 1/4 cp of ice water and finally it was the right consistency. It rolled out well and didn't stick to the counter as I picked it up. It turned out tough tho from all the extra stirring as I added the extra water. From all the 5 star reviews I thought this would be easy peasy but it wasn't at all - at least not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States