Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
After reading reviews, and seeing so many people say it wasn't quite enough to make two pies, I adjusted the number of servings to 36 (which changed all the ingredient measurements automatically). With that change, I had enough dough to make two 8" top-crust pies. Since I only needed two 8" single-crusts, I split the dough into 4 balls and froze two for later use. Other than changing the serving size, I followed the recipe exactly. The finished crusts came out perfect and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDILAUX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
The only pie crust recipe I use. Never fails! I use butter flavored Cisco for the shortening and it makes a wonderful buttery flavor crust. Use with chicken pot pie, or fruit pies. Mmm, the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamiddavis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
This is the absolute best pie crust I've ever had/used in kind of picky about the crust I usually avoid it and only eat the filling because most of the time it's so dry but I've been eating this crust plain even it's delicious! Also people are telling me to open a bakery and asking when it'll be open and stuff..I do want one but I'll have to wait until I'm 18 at least for that. They started saying that after the pie crust it really is the best I've had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Great recipe! It never fails me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tracy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
This recipe was perfect, i don't have a pastry cutter so i was a little worried it would get over worked using a rubber spatula but it came out great! I'm going to be using this recipe over and over...no more store bought crusts for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
There's a reason this is a five star recipe. I love to bake but up until now I was always a little intimidated by pies because everyone always says how tough pie crusts are to make. Even for a novice pie maker like myself this crust was so easy and turned out perfectly flaky and delicious. You can't mess this up. I've now spent hours thinking of all of the possibilities of what I can make using this crust. I would definitely recommend letting it chill completely in the fridge before rolling it out so it's easier to work with. I was too impatient to let it sit and it was hard to roll out without it falling apart, but that was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Easy, taste great, simple to work with, almost perfection. Will use it every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eufaula, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This pie crust is one of the best I've used. It's great! Be sure to chill before you use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This recipe is amazing!!!! Its my favorite by FAR!! The only thing is that it makes enough for about two pies, just be aware of that. But hey, two pies is better than one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
OMG! When you have a professional baker ask for your recipe, you know you have a winner! I could never get my crusts just right, until this one. I used this AS IS for a deep dish lemon meringue and for a deep dish chicken pot pie. Because the pie dishes are so large I got only two crusts total so the chicken pot pie had only a top crust. The sugar was just right for fruit pies but a little odd for food pies, so next time I won't add the sugar for the next chicken pot pie (Chicken pot pie IX from here) which was also completely awesome! Thank you Ruth's Grandma for an exquisitely simple yet awesome recipe and thank you Ruth for posting it for the rest of us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Eberhardt McCauley

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States