Rutabaga Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I love rutabage fries. I coat mine with smoked paprika and sprinkle with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. I don't like rosemary, so I don't use that, but garlic powder is tasty, too. I don't use fresh garlic, because I think these need to cook at a higher temp and for longer than 30 minutes, and the garlic would burn. I would suggest at least 425 for really nicely browned pieces. Mine never get super crispy, but I don't care...I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These were really really tasty and smelled wonderful cooking. I found the cooking time to be off though. At 30 mins my fries were still undercooked and not browned at all. I think maybe a slightly hotter oven might work better. I had a hot spot in my oven so some of them got a little too dark, but those were yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly, and it is so tasty! Love the rosemary. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I bought a rutabaga for the first time the other day and decided to try cooking one. Found this recipe and decided to try. I love the distinct flavor of the rutabaga and coating with the rosemary and garlic worked well. The only con was that they didn't get as crunchy as I'm use to with fries. I cooked 30 mins and then flipped and cooked another 10 mins. I may have had too many on the pan, because they were close together and maybe that's why they weren't as crunchy or maybe this is just how they are. They were a great snack though, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I admit, I was skeptical, but these were great. I used smoked paprika and cumin instead of rosemary, but honestly - - this would work with just about any spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
These were great and my 7 year old liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These taste like turnips. How disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
These are so good! Taste like a cross between a potato, sweet potato, and a carrot. We used kosher salt, pepper, and garlic powder. When they were done we sprinkled paprika. I would suggest flipping them a few times since ours burnt a little on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Surprisingly good! However, it requires w-a-y more time in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
These were just okay for us. It was our first time trying rutabaga. The flavor was good, but the texture did not meet our expectations. I followed the recipe, but mine did not crisp up at all, they had a limp and somewhat soggy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States