Rutabaga Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was okay. I added a little nutmeg and sea salt after researching what spices go well with rutabaga. I've never had rutabaga before, so not sure what I think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
simple and quick, Served it in 1/2 a steamed green pepper...make it a meal, vs side dish. I'm not much of a sugar guy so I cut that back, could have left it totally out too. I'll make this or something similar again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Was a big success at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very good! I'll definitely make it again. I like the health component, too. I used honey instead of sugar, and I added a half teaspoon of salt. I found I did need to add the milk. I like the idea of a previous poster to serve it with pork. I think it would be good with roast chicken also. I wouldn't serve it with beef, a little too heavy for a heavy meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is my first experience cooking and eating rutabaga. I hate it when people say a recipe is bland, but this one truly is. It seemed to need something...maybe salt? Neither my husband nor I cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This has an excellent taste and consistancy! My husband loved it. I served it with baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnybuns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altha, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I made this into a main dish by sauteeing a large red onion and 8 ounces of mushrooms. I also cut the recipe in half and used 2 rutabagas and 3 carrots. I cooked the diced rutabagas and 2 of the chopped carrots in boiling water for 20 minutes. After draining, I folded in the onion and mushroom mixture with the remaining uncooked carrot (which I grated). I added 2 tablespoons of margarine and about 2 tablespoons of soy milk. The entire mixture was placed in a casserole and baked (covered) in an oven at 350F for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
It was good but needs getting used to. Your brain tells you mashed potatotes. I will make this again. Maybe play up the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gartner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I always add diced apple with a little sugar to rutabaga before mashing. It adds a great flavor even for those who dislike "beggies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I had never had rutabagas and neither had my husband. This dish was really good and sweet we really enjoyed it we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States