Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and it was outstanding! The only exception was I used Italian diced tomatoes (all I had on hand). It is a great way to incorporate kale, the super-food, into an easy, quick dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this today, I used fire roasted tomatoes and extra kale (about 4-5 cups). I also substituted organic turkey bacon from whole foods. I made the recipe for 5 serving, but still used 32 ounces chicken broth. It made 5 servings of a litle over 1 1/2 cups each, hearty and loaded with protein and low fat too! Each serving has 3.4 grams of fat, 20 grams of protein, and 29 grams of carbs, and has all the flavor, I topped it with a little parmesan cheese and seasoned garlic and herb low fat croutons!! Yummm......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookenup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Went on this site looking for recipes that use kale. Came across this recipe. Excellent! It is now one of our favorites. Didn't think I would ever like a kale recipe. You proved me wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnNM
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I've just finished making this for supper tonight. I came here looking for a recipe for fresh kale and ham, and so I substituted 1/2" cubes of leftover ham for the bacon. I used 1 tablespoon of garlic-flavored EVOO instead of the bacon drippings to saute the onion in. I decided to use some of my homemade polenta that I had frozen instead of the French bread croutons. After partially thawing it, I cut it into 3"x3"x1" squares and briefly crisped them up a bit in an lightly oiled, hot skillet. When serving the soup, I added one hot polenta square to the center of each semi-filled bowl of soups and garnished each with the reserved chopped kale and grated Parmesan cheese. The result was a rich, delicious main dish soup that was as healthful as it was easy to prepare. I served it with a loaf of crusty Italian bread from the local deli and a great bottle of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I halved this recipie since it is only my husband & I and it made the perfect amount for dinner and 2 lunches the next day. I did add 1 TBS of tomato paste to the dish to thicken it just a tad and to add a touch more tomato flavor to the broth. The flavors were even better the next day, serve with crusty bread is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bean3934

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I knew this would be good when I saw the recipe and it was great! I added 1 1/2 cups of celery, 1 1/2 cups of carrots and 3 cloves garlic to the onions when it was cooking. I also peeled and diced a potato and put it in with the other ingredients. This is a keeper for me and my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Flo'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was surprisingly simple to make and very good. The croutons made the soup; the salt from the cheese and the crushed red pepper added to extra flavor to make this a 5 star soup. I did make just a couple of changes because it was what I had on hand; diced tomatoes with basil, oregano, garlic and spinach in place of the kale. Can't wait to try it again with the kale. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Excellent!!! Only thing I added was some seasoning salt: Perfect! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
EXCELLENT hearty dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
No bread in the house so I put half the parm and 1/2t of red pepper flakes in the soup during the bean and tomato step. Delicious! Soup is very thick and hearty. Taste is perfect. Guild the lily and sprinkle parm and bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States