Rustic Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Followed the reviewers tips, bay leaf, bullion cubes etc., really wonderful stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RealCookingDiva
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I read all of the reviews and made changes to the recipe. It turned out so good. I skipped the wine and mustard seed, but I didn't miss it. My family said it was delicious. Outside those changes, I follow the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is basically a Beef Burgundy Recipe more than a basic stew recipe. I could tell just by looking at the recipe that it needed some help. As with other reviewers I have made some changes. I also floured my beef before I browned it. Then I also added some extra ingredients 4 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp of dried rosemary, 2 bouillon cubes, a bay leaf, and 1 can of tomato paste. I also cooked this on low for 8 hours as suggested by other reviewers and added more cornstarch for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My husband who does not like stew loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
My husband isn't easy to please and he absolutely LOVED this... even wanted me to make it again the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Nope - what a waste of 3 lbs of beef. Tasted too much of the wine and I only put in 1 cup (all I had). There wasn't much taste - not sure what I did wrong but I'll stick to my own version of beef stew that uses already cooked and cubed roast beef. Sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I too found this to be a good basic recipe that improves with just a little doctoring. I took tips from other users and floured the meat before browning it, and also added extra corn starch. I don't think it has too much wine, but I do think it should cook longer than 4-6 hours for maximum flavor. Be sure to use a good meat, too! Also, I couldn't find consomme, so to get that intense flavor I added an extra can of beef stock (using a bit less water) and then threw in a boullion cube. Next time I will use more carrots and more potatoes, and add a little Worchesthire sauce, which I didn't have on hand, though I did use some balsamic vinegar. On the whole, though, this is a good, classic stew and very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I guess it was my error - should have read all the reviews first. I made this for my family and some friends who were visiting and we ended up ordering pizza - way too much wine, and aside from that, very little taste at all. My overall impression was that it was pretty bad and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Well this is a good base. I changed the herbs up a bit. I used 1/2 tsp thyme and 1/2 tsp rosemary. The rosemary went well with the wine. I added a more veggies(mushrooms and green beans). It tasted good day one but as with all stews and soups and such you need one good day for the flavors to meld together. I froze over half the recipe and gave some to my brother he loved it. Reheats nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This stew is so very good and flavorful that it has quickly become my only stew recipe and a new winter staple in our home. I had to add about 5Tbl cornstarch to achieve the gravy like consistancy that we prefer, but other that that one small change I make this recipe exactly as called for. It is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States