Rustic Autumn Fruit Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
After reading the reviews, I decided to add a bit of powdered sugar and a pinch of salt to the dough in my food processor. I put the chilled butter cubes and four ounces of the cream cheese in with the flour. After pulsing, I dumped it all out on parchment paper. It didn't want to clump together so I put it back in the food processor. I decided to add a bit of vanilla, a squirt of lemon juice, and a half tsp. of water. I pulsed it again and dumped it out on the parchment paper. This time it let me shape it into a round flat shape. I wrapped it up and put it in the fridge while I prepared the fruit. I used a Fuji apple, a Granny Smith, and a bartlet pear. I grated a bit of nutmeg, added the cinnamon, and put in a quarter tsp. of pumpkin pie spice as I didn't have cardamom. I squeezed lemon juice over the apples instead of using the orange juice and poured the brown sugar and a bit more of the corn starch over them with the spices. I let that sit awhile so I could prepare the crust. It had the right amount of juice. I rolled the dough between two sheets of parchment paper which made it easy to get the right size and to place it in a tart pan. I cut the excess dough off and cooked it to test it out. Very buttery and flakey. Next time I would use less sugar with the apples, cook it longer with aluminum foil cover, and do the crust just like I did. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
The rating is based on the amount of time it took my two boys and husband to finish the leftovers - 2 days! The other desert I served along side of this at Thanksgiving dinner was gone in the same seating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Did the crust in a food processor. It did not hold as the recipe indicated that it would. I used the recipe amount of cream cheese and butter..the dough was crumbly. I never worked with a crust made with cream cheese...when I dumped it out on the counter, it seemed powdery like all the flour did not incorporate...I kneaded the dough quite a bit to get it to stick together and it felt very stiff..I refrigerated dough for 1/2 hour. Slightly difficult to roll out but it lifted well and I fit it into a 9 and 1/2 tart pan. I used 2 MacIntosh apples and 2 Anjou pears..made the filling and let it sit in juice and drained per suggestions from other recipes. I also doubled the amount of corn starch based on other remarks about the filling being too runny. I saw some other reviewers had added additional corn starch also...the flavors of the filling were awesome. I did not have the any apricot jelly so I heated up some mango jelly and it worked just fine. I cut the apples and pear thinly and took my time and made a nice patterned filling. I overfilled the crust by about 1/2 inch higher..Glad I did..as it cooled, it seemed to settle and I found the finished product was now level with the crust. Everyone loved the dessert. It wasn't too sweet and the cardamon added a nice flavor. I was worried that it would be runny because I could see the level of juice rising in the tart as it cooled. The crust turned out great and flaky. Wasn't runny at all..great dessert..difficult crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Amazing ! I used pears apples and little powder almond, read carefully the reviewers ...it's very helpfull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailingDidi!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I loved the crust:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Great recipe! The crust is divine! I have made it with and without the cardamom (my mother does not care for it) and it was wonderful either way! I use extra orange juice and pears for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Delicious with mascarpone! I also added almond extract & lemon juice to OJ mixture, and sliced almonds on top. I used 2 pears and 2 apples. Besides these minor changes, everything else as directed and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is the first recipe that I've been successful with a pie crust (I made the gallete version). My pear was very soft so I hid it on the bottom of the tart. The dough could use a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by cookinkitty
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and it came out wonderful. i did soak the fruit then drain the liquid. The only trouble i had was rolling out the dough because i didn't have anything to use- i tried with an empty wine bottle, with out much success. It might not look great but i could not stop eating it. i would next time use more fruit in my 9 inch pan. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I had difficulty with the dough. I used the food processor method and refrigerating it made it hard to work with. I ended up pressing it into the tart pan. I consulted a favorite cookbook recipe which recommended adding confectioners sugar to the dough for sweetness, so I brushed some on top of the dough inthe pan. to prevent the juice from making the crust soggy, they also recommended brushing the jam onto the crust before adding the apples, which I did. I used an apple peeler/corer/slicer to get uniform slices and hand sliced the pear. Rather than mix the apples with the sauce, I arranged the slices in the tart pan in a circle and intermingled the pear. I poured the sauce on top and brushed it around but used a little less OJ because my apples were a little soft. It's baking and looks fabulous but I;m rating this a 4 because the dough was hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States