Rustic Autumn Fruit Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very easy, I made a few changes, used 4 small apples and 3 pears, I let the fruit marinade in the OJ with the spices and then I drained the sauce before putting it in the dough. The first time I made this I did not drain and the liquid seeped thru the crust and burned. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Grohmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyra
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I loved this recipe! The pastry came out perfect, I am surprised at the reviewers who had troubles with getting it right. I am thinking about using this as a pie crust as well - my family and I loved it! It was nice and flaky, it came out of the tart pan without any trouble, it did not stick at all -- and I did not grease the pan at all or prepared it in any way. The cardamom gave the filling a great subtle taste. Slightly different then allspice, worth using it if available. I added one extra pear, drained the fruits before tossing with spices and sugar (I upped the corn starch a bit to compensate) and it was perfect. This tart will be on all my festive dinner tables from now on. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
this is absolutely delicious. my main purpose in making this was to try out my new jar of cardamom (i had never tried it before, but i am intrigued by this spice). the spices in this recipe blend together so well. nice presentation also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is the kind of dessert found in quality European patisseries. I used 2 pears and 1 1/2 granny smith apples. It's very important to slice the fruit very thin. Unless you are lucky enough to own a mandolin, this step is tricky and takes time. It might be a good idea to slice an extra pear or apple to have a choice of the best shaped pieces. I added slightly more corn starch to make sure that the filling wouldn't be runny. Laying the fruit in a pretty way isn't really difficult and is something that with practice will only get better. Cardamom is a spice I hadn't used before. I found it's addition subtly added an unusual and interesting flavour. Using a tart pan with a removable bottom will best show off all of your hard work and makes it so easy to serve. I may tinker with the pastry to improve it, but that could just be me. I'm still toiling away to better any pastry I make. Give yourself time to put this tart together. Your patience will be rewarded. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was very good and pretty. I used reduced fat cream cheese, 1 1/2 large Fuji apples, 1 Bosc pear, low-acid orange juice (the only kind we drink), and had to substitute 1/8 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon chai spice mix for the cardamom (I could not find it at the base commissary). I used Trader Joe's preserves. I served it with Breyer's Homemade Vanilla ice cream. I would have given the recipe 5 stars, but the cook time was off (and my oven is very accurate); I had to cook it 45 minutes. Also, I used a tart pan and the crust stuck around the edges. It definitely needed to be lightly greased. I'm not sure if refrigerating the dough was a necessary step. The dough was not sticky and appeared easy to work with, but I did refrigerate it for an hour and it was extremely stiff. I found the dessert to be very sweet and rich. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dakotapam
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe. I made mine free form. I also added a bit of almond to the filling, to give it a little extra punch of flavor. I used one pear, one red delicious apple, and 1 each of a small granny smith and a macintosh apple. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakotapam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
1/2 cup cream cheese = 4 oz. (or half of an 8 oz. brick) The first time I made this I made the mistake of using 8 oz of cream cheese which makes too much dough. The second time I got it right, but the crust isn't as tender as I was hoping for. I added a pinch of salt and also 1-2 T of cold water to the dough to get it to form a ball. The filling has very good flavor. I needed to bake this about 10 min. longer than stated. Also 1/4 cup jam is plenty to thickly coat the top of the tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My daughter and I are experienced bakers and we found this recipe a challenge. As others have noted, the dough was stiff and hard to work with. We did a free form pie on the baking sheet and presentation wise it would win no blue ribbons, the juice all ran out. 30 minutes is not enough time for the fruit to bake properly, we had to bake it at least an extra 30 minutes or so with butter dotting the fruit and a tent of aluminum foil. The flavors on the fruit were great, but the dough was tough and bland. However the saving grace was topping it with Haagen Daaz Vanilla Ice Cream, so it wasn't a complete loss. If we made this one again we would use another tried and tested cream cheese dough recipe, slice the apples and pears thinner, put in a pie pan and bake longer. Oh, and the apricot jam? It gave the dough some sweetness but otherwise, I wouldn't bother with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pj McIlvaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe is so good! The cardamom really makes it, and to really get the best taste, serve it warm with a little vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. Also, I took the advice of the last reviewer and spread a thin layer of almond filling on the dough before layering on the fruit. It is subtle, but it goes very well with all of te flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My family loved this but we made it into a pie instead. I used double the pastry recipe and double the tart recipe and added to a pie dish and baked as I would a pie until done. It was a little more tart than I care for but very good. I would probably increase sugar to reduce tartness (I used 6 Granny Smith apples to make the pie) or use different type of apples. I will definitely make again as it was very good and theres not a bite left after the 2nd day :) Thank you so much. The pastry is very easy to make in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States