Rustic Autumn Fruit Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dakotapam
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe. I made mine free form. I also added a bit of almond to the filling, to give it a little extra punch of flavor. I used one pear, one red delicious apple, and 1 each of a small granny smith and a macintosh apple. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakotapam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe is so good! The cardamom really makes it, and to really get the best taste, serve it warm with a little vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. Also, I took the advice of the last reviewer and spread a thin layer of almond filling on the dough before layering on the fruit. It is subtle, but it goes very well with all of te flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My first tort and it was awesome...the wife and kids all think I am amazing.. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Fast, Easy, Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNNYFARM319

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
this is absolutely delicious. my main purpose in making this was to try out my new jar of cardamom (i had never tried it before, but i am intrigued by this spice). the spices in this recipe blend together so well. nice presentation also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My family loved this but we made it into a pie instead. I used double the pastry recipe and double the tart recipe and added to a pie dish and baked as I would a pie until done. It was a little more tart than I care for but very good. I would probably increase sugar to reduce tartness (I used 6 Granny Smith apples to make the pie) or use different type of apples. I will definitely make again as it was very good and theres not a bite left after the 2nd day :) Thank you so much. The pastry is very easy to make in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great recipe the entire family enjoyed. Pretty easy also!! The pastry was so wonderful would also be great for a pie. Made my tart free form. Served with vanilla bean ice cream. What a great comfort food dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was very good and pretty. I used reduced fat cream cheese, 1 1/2 large Fuji apples, 1 Bosc pear, low-acid orange juice (the only kind we drink), and had to substitute 1/8 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon chai spice mix for the cardamom (I could not find it at the base commissary). I used Trader Joe's preserves. I served it with Breyer's Homemade Vanilla ice cream. I would have given the recipe 5 stars, but the cook time was off (and my oven is very accurate); I had to cook it 45 minutes. Also, I used a tart pan and the crust stuck around the edges. It definitely needed to be lightly greased. I'm not sure if refrigerating the dough was a necessary step. The dough was not sticky and appeared easy to work with, but I did refrigerate it for an hour and it was extremely stiff. I found the dessert to be very sweet and rich. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was a very nice recipe. I wasn't crazy about the crus but was very tasty otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very nice tart. I made one crust out of half the dough--not really on purpose, but it did seem like a lot of dough. I can definitely use the remainder of the dough in something else; it just surprised me. I didn't have apples so I subbed peaches and I accidently added 1/3 c oj instead of 1/4 c, which made it more custardy. It was still pretty good, though. I forgot the apricot jam but I love the blending of the flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States