Rustic Autumn Fruit Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Wonderful, and I'm officially going to start adding cardamom to my apple pies now as well. I spaced on the orange juice and didn't have any on hand, so I tossed the fruit with a 50/50 mix of pure lemon juice and water--anxious to try to again with oj and see if it alters the taste. I did add more fruit--2 gala apples and 2 Bosc pears--also anxious to try different varieties. Oddly enough, I tried this recipe to use the 2 pears before they spoiled, but it looks like I'll be running out for more pears since this didn't last long at all;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was good. I made it free-form and put the apples in the crust, then folded up the edges, then poured the rest of the sauce in (so it wouldn't spill). The top apples got a little dry, so I put the apricot jam on top and then baked it the last 10 minutes. I had trouble with the crust. It was just falling apart, so I added a little bit of water until it just barely stuck together before refrigerating. (I'm not sure if that is the right thing to do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
As it stands, this is a pretty terrible recipe. The crust is flavorlessand needs sugar. The orange juice is weird and it makes everything runny. The two stars are because it was absolutely beautiful and I liked the apricot jam idea. I'll use that with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Flavor of this tart is good. I used Bartlett Pears and I think they may be juicier than some other pears so it didn't set up well. Used 2 pears and 2 apples. Wouldn't use any less. Maybe should have upped the cornstarch since I used more fruit. Crust was tasty but at first it doesn't seem like it is coming together. Keep working with it. Does not work well in free form, the juice runs everywhere. So moved it to a tart pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
1/2 cup cream cheese = 4 oz. (or half of an 8 oz. brick) The first time I made this I made the mistake of using 8 oz of cream cheese which makes too much dough. The second time I got it right, but the crust isn't as tender as I was hoping for. I added a pinch of salt and also 1-2 T of cold water to the dough to get it to form a ball. The filling has very good flavor. I needed to bake this about 10 min. longer than stated. Also 1/4 cup jam is plenty to thickly coat the top of the tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I liked this but made some alterations. I did not have cardamom so I added some allspice and a little extra cinnamon. I think if I were to make this again I would reduce the orange juice slightly. I wasn't crazy about the flavor it created. I would possibly add another pear. The apples seemed to over power the pears. Otherwise simple tasty recipe would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmama307

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Awesome!! made the free form one cuz i don't have a tart pan. Just don't leave the dough in the fridge for too long cuz then it gets too hard. Didn't have cardamon so i used mace spice. still tasted great. had to bake for an extra 10 minutes but i'm using an oven in China so that might be the reason why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very easy, I made a few changes, used 4 small apples and 3 pears, I let the fruit marinade in the OJ with the spices and then I drained the sauce before putting it in the dough. The first time I made this I did not drain and the liquid seeped thru the crust and burned. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISKG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
wow! this was SOOOO easy and SOOOO amazing! I am not sure what the other readers were doing but the amount of dough was fine for me - could've used more even?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very nice tart. I made one crust out of half the dough--not really on purpose, but it did seem like a lot of dough. I can definitely use the remainder of the dough in something else; it just surprised me. I didn't have apples so I subbed peaches and I accidently added 1/3 c oj instead of 1/4 c, which made it more custardy. It was still pretty good, though. I forgot the apricot jam but I love the blending of the flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States