Rustic Autumn Fruit Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
The rating is based on the amount of time it took my two boys and husband to finish the leftovers - 2 days! The other desert I served along side of this at Thanksgiving dinner was gone in the same seating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Did the crust in a food processor. It did not hold as the recipe indicated that it would. I used the recipe amount of cream cheese and butter..the dough was crumbly. I never worked with a crust made with cream cheese...when I dumped it out on the counter, it seemed powdery like all the flour did not incorporate...I kneaded the dough quite a bit to get it to stick together and it felt very stiff..I refrigerated dough for 1/2 hour. Slightly difficult to roll out but it lifted well and I fit it into a 9 and 1/2 tart pan. I used 2 MacIntosh apples and 2 Anjou pears..made the filling and let it sit in juice and drained per suggestions from other recipes. I also doubled the amount of corn starch based on other remarks about the filling being too runny. I saw some other reviewers had added additional corn starch also...the flavors of the filling were awesome. I did not have the any apricot jelly so I heated up some mango jelly and it worked just fine. I cut the apples and pear thinly and took my time and made a nice patterned filling. I overfilled the crust by about 1/2 inch higher..Glad I did..as it cooled, it seemed to settle and I found the finished product was now level with the crust. Everyone loved the dessert. It wasn't too sweet and the cardamon added a nice flavor. I was worried that it would be runny because I could see the level of juice rising in the tart as it cooled. The crust turned out great and flaky. Wasn't runny at all..great dessert..difficult crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Amazing ! I used pears apples and little powder almond, read carefully the reviewers ...it's very helpfull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailingDidi!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I loved the crust:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Great recipe! The crust is divine! I have made it with and without the cardamom (my mother does not care for it) and it was wonderful either way! I use extra orange juice and pears for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Delicious with mascarpone! I also added almond extract & lemon juice to OJ mixture, and sliced almonds on top. I used 2 pears and 2 apples. Besides these minor changes, everything else as directed and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is the first recipe that I've been successful with a pie crust (I made the gallete version). My pear was very soft so I hid it on the bottom of the tart. The dough could use a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by cookinkitty
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and it came out wonderful. i did soak the fruit then drain the liquid. The only trouble i had was rolling out the dough because i didn't have anything to use- i tried with an empty wine bottle, with out much success. It might not look great but i could not stop eating it. i would next time use more fruit in my 9 inch pan. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I had difficulty with the dough. I used the food processor method and refrigerating it made it hard to work with. I ended up pressing it into the tart pan. I consulted a favorite cookbook recipe which recommended adding confectioners sugar to the dough for sweetness, so I brushed some on top of the dough inthe pan. to prevent the juice from making the crust soggy, they also recommended brushing the jam onto the crust before adding the apples, which I did. I used an apple peeler/corer/slicer to get uniform slices and hand sliced the pear. Rather than mix the apples with the sauce, I arranged the slices in the tart pan in a circle and intermingled the pear. I poured the sauce on top and brushed it around but used a little less OJ because my apples were a little soft. It's baking and looks fabulous but I;m rating this a 4 because the dough was hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I didn't have cream cheese, so I used another pastry dough recipe (Which turned out great), but I kept the filling the same. The sauce mixture didn't boil and thicken even after baking for an extra 15 minutes, so it came out a little runny. It still tasted pretty good, but the orange juice flavor was a little too strong. I felt it was a relatively simple tart to make, and with a couple modifications, would be extremely good for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States