Russian Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I love this salad. It is one of those things that takes me back to Russia. So easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puma&Pony
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Good, fast, summery salad. Easy to make and forget about it until the salad is ready to serve. One suggestion is to add a cucumber and a bit more in the way of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puma&Pony

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was rather bland. I added salt and pepper, but it needed something else. I halved the sour cream and it still seemed too heavy for the dish. On the flip side, I liked eating a ton of veggies. It just took forever to slice them all paper thin for the pretty presentation. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Really liked this.....I did add a hot pepper and additional dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
It was good, and definiitely fresh tasting, but as made, it lacked some seasoning and was a bit blander than I remember eating in Russia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
It was certainly a quick and easy salad, but the taste was overpowered with onion and pepper. I used 3 tomatoes instead of 2 because the ones I had were small, however, the tomatoes were barely noticeable with such great quantities of green pepper and onion. I will try this salad again, but will likely double the amount of tomatoes, cut the portion of onions in half, and probably use just 2 peppers. As a side note, I served this salad at a party and the sour cream did not hold up well without being refrigerated for several hours. It became more runny the longer it sat on the table. Living in Russia, however, I used Russian sour cream (smetana) and it is a bit different than American sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
In Russia, we put chopped up cucumber instead of bell pepper in this salad. Also, a cup of sour cream is too much! That would make it too runny. Put enough to coat all vegetables. And add salt and pepper to taste. Its better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was not a hit in the house but I won't mind finishing the leftovers. It needs something; like a pinch of Parmesan Cheese on top of each serving. Too runny for me, needs a thicker consistency, especially when using a dilly sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
YUM! This was so good and light...the only thing that I changed was I added a tsp of chopped garlic...the only seasoning needed then was salt, pepper, and dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tioga, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States