Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
YUM!! THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME MAKING THESE & EVERYONE AT CHURCH LOVED THEM!. I MADE ABOUT 4 DOZON, THEY WERE ALL GONE IN AN HOUR.THESE WERE SSSOOO EASY TO MAKE, THESE RECIPE IS A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This were a new addition to my Christmas cookies, and I've already had to come back to this website to reprint the recipe for friends. They are a bit difficult to form, but man... are they good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This time I chopped the nuts with a mini chopper and mixed dough with mixer instead of by hand. The recipe makes up quickly. Tip-Dip cookies into your sugar-filled cupped hand for final coating. This way they all turn out evenly coated and equally pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLIM!!!
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Great, Classic Cookies. Everyone's favorite. Make them for Christmas the traditional way, or if you can't wait that long, shape them like easter eggs. (see picture I submitted) Always a hit. note: you must use REAL butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
These were great-especially at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I first tasted these cookies in grammar school over twenty years ago and have been searching for the recipe since. This is it! This is a foolproof recipe that bakes up beautiful cookies perfect for holiday parties. These were a hit when I brought them to a Russian Christmas party. Nutty, crumbly cookies that are not too sweet. Don't overbake - only the bottoms turn brown. Also, I like to flatten mine rather than shaping into balls as they bake up crispier. Be sure to store these in airtight container. Lovely and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
These cookies are so simple to make - I did not even chill the dough before I rolled them into balls to be cooked. They just melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is the same recipe my great grandma used. The only thing different that my mom found easier to do is cool the cookies completely and then shake them in the powdered sugar. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I've made these every year for Christmas ever since I was a teenager. They are so delicious and look beautiful on a cookie tray. My suggestions are that you will need more powdered sugar than stated. Put a few of the hot cookies at a time into a paper bag with the sugar in, shake gently to coat, remove and set aside on a rack to cool. The first coating with sugar will get soft from the heat, then when they are completely cooled, coat again and the sugar will adhere to the first coating making the outside nice and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is one of my favorite Christmas cookies. I have used this recipe for several years and find that these come out wonderfully when following the recipe exactly. Very buttery and delicious. I place the cooking rack a bit higher in the oven to avoid overcooking the bottoms of the cookies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States