Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
The taste was OK but she forgot the DIRECTIONS!. You can't just combine the ingredients. The butter and conf sugar need to be combined first and the flour needs to be sifted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I've made these every year for Christmas ever since I was a teenager. They are so delicious and look beautiful on a cookie tray. My suggestions are that you will need more powdered sugar than stated. Put a few of the hot cookies at a time into a paper bag with the sugar in, shake gently to coat, remove and set aside on a rack to cool. The first coating with sugar will get soft from the heat, then when they are completely cooled, coat again and the sugar will adhere to the first coating making the outside nice and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is one of my favorite Christmas cookies. I have used this recipe for several years and find that these come out wonderfully when following the recipe exactly. Very buttery and delicious. I place the cooking rack a bit higher in the oven to avoid overcooking the bottoms of the cookies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I found that at my altitude, they only needed 10 minutes instead of 15. Unless my balls were a bit small. But I used a metal bowl to chill it, to keep it cooler longer, and found that I over chilled and had to use my hand warmth to get the dough to roll up. Also, don't leave the hot balls in the powdered sugar too long or the sugar starts to become frosting and then there's a mess! But I had never made anything like them before, and I learned a bunch. They are also very tasty and easy once you get the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webmonkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This time I chopped the nuts with a mini chopper and mixed dough with mixer instead of by hand. The recipe makes up quickly. Tip-Dip cookies into your sugar-filled cupped hand for final coating. This way they all turn out evenly coated and equally pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is the same recipe my Grandmother showed me. Extra bonus, for the second coating you can roll the cookies in colored sugar for a festive look and they still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Emma, good job hunting this recipe! These cookies are in fact THE ORIGINAL Russian Teacakes. I have a hand written copy in my hand as we speak. Here's the way the "holy grail" (hahahaha!)has been handed down all these years to me: 1. Don't over chill them. About thirty minutes is good. 2. Don't make them too big. These are supposed to be dainty cookies. 3. These cookies don't spread, so you can add a few more than normal. Also, unless you have a convection oven, don't try to put more than one sheet in your oven. 4. Bake these cookies until they are just barely turning golden on the bottom, because they will continue to cook on the sheet. These cookies should be "tender", and melt in your mouth. Not crunchy. 5. Because you have left them till they are just barely golden on the bottom, do not, repeat, do not move them from the sheet until they are almost completely cool, or they will fall apart. 6. This is the tricky part. You need to roll? toss? dust? them in the powdered sugar without busting them. I was shown to do it in a bowl about half full of podered sugar, one at a time, cradling them in my fingers, back and forth. (I know, sounds crazy!) Ok, I'll stop yacking now! Again, thanks for posting THE ORIGINAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLIM!!!
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Great, Classic Cookies. Everyone's favorite. Make them for Christmas the traditional way, or if you can't wait that long, shape them like easter eggs. (see picture I submitted) Always a hit. note: you must use REAL butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
it was good. My mistake was that i put the dough in the freege for a couple of hours and when i took it out it was hard as a rock, so i would suggest no more than 30 minutes to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krochka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toliatti, Samara Oblast, Russia
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
These were so good! Very easy to make and perfect for the hoidays. They come out perfectly done if you follow the directions exactly. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States