Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These are amazing! From the second I took them out of the oven half of them dissapeared. I am a pecan fan so I replaced the walnuts with them and it turned out better than I had imagined!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I took the advice of another reviewer to mix butter and sugar first, then add everything else (didn't sift flour though)... Next time I will just mix it all at once just like the recipe states because I think the extra step is unnecessary. These turned out perfect!! I didn't chill my dough either. My husband grew up on these, but I had never even heard of them. I am so happy that these came out exactly how he remembered them. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made these for the holidays and they were a huge hit! Simple to mix up, too. They came out just the way I love cookies, nice and crispy. The first batch I made was a little crumbly so I took the suggestion of another reviewer here and added a Tablespoon or two of milk. Came out great. The second batch I made I did not even need the milk. I used softer butter. I would not substitute margarine for butter. The flavor of real butter you cannot beat. I gave this 5 stars! Bravo! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was a fantastic recipe! Not only was it DELICIOUS, but nine times out of ten, you will have these ingredients in your kitchen already. I told my friends I was going to make some cookies, and they were shocked to see what came out of the kitchen with me. AND, they were easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very nice, these are much like those I grew up with. Always a crowd pleaser in my house during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are wonderful! I had a recipe a while ago from some Polish friends and lost it! This is the much the same as I can recall. However I didn't use the walnuts( they aren't my first choice) I used toasted pecans! Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! So good. This is a very easy recipe! I know people said that some of the steps are left out but it's pretty easy none the less. Also I rolled in 10x as soon as they came out of the oven! Then I let them cool and rolled them again. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These cookies are delicious. However, they flattened out a little while cooking. I think my mistake might have been using margarine instead of the butter that was called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I followed the recipe to the letter, but for some reason had to keep the cookies for an hour in the oven instead of 15 minutes, and they still were undone. My husband did not like them at all. I live in Russia & it is easier to buy those than make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These are my favorite cookies! The recipe was simple and the cookies taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is the same recipe my Grandmother showed me. Extra bonus, for the second coating you can roll the cookies in colored sugar for a festive look and they still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States