Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have never made these before, and I pleasantly surprised at how easy they were to make. And delicious!!! I made 2 batches. One, following the recipe as written. For the second, I took out the walnuts and mixed some Hershey's cocoa with the confectioners sugar (both in the cookie and for the dusting afterwards). "Black" Russian tea cakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Raught Loskie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe and they taste just like the little cakes that my husband LOVES from Siberia. A few tips: use very finely chopped walnuts and give the cookies several coats of powdered sugar. The first one will turn into a frosting that the next coats will stick to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Delicious! Perfect, traditional. I used walnuts. Pick these! You won't be disappointd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Emma, good job hunting this recipe! These cookies are in fact THE ORIGINAL Russian Teacakes. I have a hand written copy in my hand as we speak. Here's the way the "holy grail" (hahahaha!)has been handed down all these years to me: 1. Don't over chill them. About thirty minutes is good. 2. Don't make them too big. These are supposed to be dainty cookies. 3. These cookies don't spread, so you can add a few more than normal. Also, unless you have a convection oven, don't try to put more than one sheet in your oven. 4. Bake these cookies until they are just barely turning golden on the bottom, because they will continue to cook on the sheet. These cookies should be "tender", and melt in your mouth. Not crunchy. 5. Because you have left them till they are just barely golden on the bottom, do not, repeat, do not move them from the sheet until they are almost completely cool, or they will fall apart. 6. This is the tricky part. You need to roll? toss? dust? them in the powdered sugar without busting them. I was shown to do it in a bowl about half full of podered sugar, one at a time, cradling them in my fingers, back and forth. (I know, sounds crazy!) Ok, I'll stop yacking now! Again, thanks for posting THE ORIGINAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I love these!!! My mother made these ever since I can remember. She used finely chopped pecans instead of walnuts. Here's a tip - I use a melon baller to scoop the dough and then roll it. It makes uniform balls and easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe is a real keeper.I couldn't wait for Christmas and made them in July.Will be making them again for Christmas.Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
These cookies always remind me of my childhood. We'd make them for Christmas and put them out for Santa, and I hope to pass this delicious tradition on to my children. They're a great addition to any party as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These are VERY good! All my friends loved them! I only baked them for 10 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackened_Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Very tasty, not too sweet. I found the best way to coat them with sugar when the cookies are still hot is to fill a large tupperware with powdered sugar and drop a few cookies in, shaking the container around a bit to coat them. I'd definitely make these again- but it will have to be a double batch next time, they go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Thank you for this...my husband is Russian and I'm always trying to make something that tastes like home for him to impress him. Well, this did the trick. He died and went to heaven! He absolutely loves it and requests it all the time now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States