Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Perfection - I have been baking this very same recipe for over 40 years. For those that need specific directions: mix the softened margarine, sifted confection sugar and vanilla together set aside and mix the flour and salt together, then combine the flour mix with the margarine mixture and stir in the nuts. Continue with step #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These tasted raw in the middle although I cooked them for 15 minutes. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
A classic Christmas cookie that so many have made for years, following the traditions of their mothers or grandmothers. I'm certain these evoke memories for a lot of us, including myself. One of those Christmas cookies that has earned its place on our cookie platters and that has stood the test of time because they are not too sweet, tender, cover your lips and mouth with the fluff of powdered sugar and are melt-in-your mouth, lick your fingers delicious. I suspect our own daughters and grandaughters will be continuing this wonderful tradition. I like to use a full tablespoon of vanilla as well as a teaspoon of almond extract. (These have been my son's favorite ever since he was a little boy, that little boy instructing me NOT to share any of these with anybody, including his grandmother :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I adore Russian tea cakes, they are my favorite cookie! These were good; although, the flour to nut ratio was a little high and you could definitely taste it. Would have been better with more nuts and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have never made these before, but wish I had read the reviews. I will see how they turn out. I thought it was odd to put everything in the mix at once an really thought so when flour even with the guard on came flying out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very good flavor! My only complaint is that the cookie is a little dry. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Just made for the first time. I followed the directions exactly and they were a big hit. One reviewer said to sift flour and add things in a particular order - you do not have too. I just put it all in as is and worked it with my hands until I got dough. Make sure you do not make them too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I tried this today. i baked them for 15 minutes and they were crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tehran, Tehran, Iran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These cookies are so good! This is the second time I made them, and people raved about them each time. They only take about 11-12 minutes to bake for me, but that could be because of our high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States