Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is as close as I can come to my grandmothers recipe for what we call holiday cresents. You guessed it we shaped them into cresents (two bite size). I make one swape for the vegan in the family and use Earth Balance vegan safe spread. Works wonderfuly and no one is left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Amazingly similar to my Oma's Vanille Kipferls with the exception of the confectioners sugar instead of granulated. If making these ahead of time, you may have to give them another roll in the powdered sugar to brighten them up as it has a tendency to yellow as the cookies sit. A quick and easy recipe that results in a delightful and delicious, tender cookie your family and friends will love. Thank you Emma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Emma, thank you for the recipe! Made these last night, and they turned out great. I was worried when the dough kept falling apart; but alas after chilling it was very easy to mold into the perfect sized balls. Thanks to all the reviews, we sugared them a second time after cooled off. I expect these will be well received at our cookie exchange later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These are tender and delicious ! I used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have this recipe from my grandmother she has been making them for over 50 years. Then it was passed on to my mother as well. You MUST use real butter to make these. They are a tradition in our family. There is also a recipes for Butterfingers that are made the same way but you use Pecans instead of Walnuts and reg sugar for the Powered sugar and form dough into finger sized forms and roll once in gran sugar straight from the oven. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
THANK YOU for posting this. I can remember making these with my mom when I was a kid. I have searched for her recipe to no avail. Seeing the ingredients I knew this was it. My job was to put the nuts in a nut grinder. Also I can still hear her say "don't play with the dough!". It makes them tough. She also used to form crescent shapes. I also got to toss them while they were barely still warm in the sugar and then again when cooled. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have never made these before, and I pleasantly surprised at how easy they were to make. And delicious!!! I made 2 batches. One, following the recipe as written. For the second, I took out the walnuts and mixed some Hershey's cocoa with the confectioners sugar (both in the cookie and for the dusting afterwards). "Black" Russian tea cakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chemhead1129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe and they taste just like the little cakes that my husband LOVES from Siberia. A few tips: use very finely chopped walnuts and give the cookies several coats of powdered sugar. The first one will turn into a frosting that the next coats will stick to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Delicious! Perfect, traditional. I used walnuts. Pick these! You won't be disappointd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Emma, good job hunting this recipe! These cookies are in fact THE ORIGINAL Russian Teacakes. I have a hand written copy in my hand as we speak. Here's the way the "holy grail" (hahahaha!)has been handed down all these years to me: 1. Don't over chill them. About thirty minutes is good. 2. Don't make them too big. These are supposed to be dainty cookies. 3. These cookies don't spread, so you can add a few more than normal. Also, unless you have a convection oven, don't try to put more than one sheet in your oven. 4. Bake these cookies until they are just barely turning golden on the bottom, because they will continue to cook on the sheet. These cookies should be "tender", and melt in your mouth. Not crunchy. 5. Because you have left them till they are just barely golden on the bottom, do not, repeat, do not move them from the sheet until they are almost completely cool, or they will fall apart. 6. This is the tricky part. You need to roll? toss? dust? them in the powdered sugar without busting them. I was shown to do it in a bowl about half full of podered sugar, one at a time, cradling them in my fingers, back and forth. (I know, sounds crazy!) Ok, I'll stop yacking now! Again, thanks for posting THE ORIGINAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States