Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Don't overwork your dough or your cookies will be tough. That goes for most cookie doughs. Mix to incorporate, don't overmix if you can help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have been making these cookies for Christmas and anytime I wanted a really good cookie for the last 50 years. They have been my favorite since I first made them. I use finely chopped black walnuts and it gives them a really good taste. My family and I are addicted to them. Everyone that tastes them want the recipe. Best cookie recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Delicious! But just a few hints: whatever nut you use (I prefer walnuts, just love them in this cookie!) grind as finely as you can. That will help make a nicer, round cookie that is much less likely to crumble a bit on you as you roll it. If you do find that your dough is difficult to roll, just add a bit of milk (up to a tablespoon). That should do the trick for you. Also, I think these scream for almond extract. I always use this flavor and perhaps you would like to give it a try also. And last, I think baking at 350 degrees is a bit hot for this delicate cookie. I bake mine at 325 F. Oh, and one last thing . . . when you roll these in the powdered sugar, make sure the cookie is still warm but not hot. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
To those who said these cookies were crumbly and fell apart. The nuts were not chopped finely enough. The recipe should have said "finely chopped". These are delicious cookies, and the feature photo is exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I've used this recipe for the past three or four years for Christmas gifts. My mom made these as I was growing up and this is exactly what I was looking for. I love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I just made 12 of these in preparation for Christmas and this is by far the most delicious pastry I have ever made. And soooo easy. Just followed the instructions and used powder walnuts. Will definitely make tons of these for christmas. Enormours thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe was very easy and the taste was exceptional. I used pecans because that was all I had on hand. My mom, friends, and boyfriend flipped over these cookies so I guess it was a good substitution :) Like most of the reviewers, I ground the nuts instead of chopping them and it helped with the texture. I added a little bit of cinnamon to the powdered sugar on the second coating for just an extra hint of yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I make these every year for Xmas. My mom used to make these using black walnuts, which was awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
i tried it, was really good and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
i love them. they were a little too buttery. next time i will use ground hazelnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tehran, Tehran, Iran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States