Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Good recipe, and were the favorite at our Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I make these cookies. They were passed on by my German Grandmother. We use pecans the taste is sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe is spot on the same as my grandmothers cookies and the best you'll find. I do add about a tbsp of water to the mix to help with the dry or crumbly texture people have been talking about. I make them every year for all of our neighbors and every year, they gobble them up and ask for the recipe!!! I've made them with walnuts, pecans, no nuts, colored granulated sugar, etc. and whatever you make them with, this recipe is fail proof and classic!!!! Winning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Graham Holley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kguti_81@hotmail.com
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I love this recipe, super simple and delicious, I made 6 dozens without any stress. I followed the tip about adding milk to prevent crumbling and I also added cinnamon. They are very tasty and beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kguti_81@hotmail.com
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Love, love, LOVE this cookie recipe! Took them into work and they were demolished within a hour. Followed other reviewers' suggestions about finely chopping the nuts to avoid a 'too crumbly' texture. Must of worked because the cookies were not too crumbly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have been making this very same recipe since Home Ec. class in the 60's in Blue River, Ore. (Hi, girls) We made them into the shape of crescents for Mother's Tea by the ton in our cooking class. At the Tea, we modeled the clothes we had made in our sewing class. I still cook and sew, thanks to that class and the crescents turned into balls long ago. Have made them nearly every year for over 50yrs. I found if the butter is too soft, the cookies will flatten out, so after forming them, I put them in the fridge for 20 min. or so while I fill another cookie sheet. I usually make a triple batch a couple of times so there's usually a cookie sheet in the fridge, one in the oven and one being made. I make these with my grand daughters and have had a lot of fun. Don't give up if things don't work the first time, read the comments and learn from them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Pretty good. My variation is 1) Unsalted butter. 2) Preheat to 400 degrees and 8-10 minutes baking time until set, not brown, and 3) after the mixing, chill dough for 1 hour. The results are much more consistent. Roll once in powdered sugar while warm, and once more when cooled. I put several cookies in a pie tin and agitate the tin to roll them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
my whole family just loves these cookies! they are so delicate. its hard to keep them on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I would say "THE" perfect cookie, i personally enjoy playing with the flavoring. Rum flavoring is amazing as is almond, and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delano, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made with almonds. Recipe made 20. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States